Look on the Positive Side

My husband told me a week or so ago that I’m too negative. I will admit, when I get in my bout of depression and anxiety, it’s hard to see the positive side of life. When it feels like EVERYTHING is going wrong, it’s hard to find the positive light in life.

Well, to make an effort to look more at the positive instead of the negative I bought a book to help me with that. The book I bought is Chicken Soup for the Soul: Think Positive. 101 Inspirational Stories about Counting Your Blessing and Having a Positive Attitude.

As I’m reading the foreword, written by  Deborah Norville, right before she ends, she poses six questions for you to contemplate while you’re reading the 101 stories in this book. The questions are:

-Are you living the way you feel you are meant to?

-What are the benefits that come from your own adversities?

-What blessings have happened this day/week?

-Who serves as a role model for you? Have you told them?

-How can you celebrate the mundane and the ordinary?

-What is it your life lacks that would give it greater meaning?

Before even reading any of the stories, I can tell you I’ve got a lot to work on. I don’t know if I’ve ever told my role models that they are role models for me. I hope to do a blog post at least once a week of the blessings I’ve had that week.

Do you look more on the positive side of life? How do you do it? Please feel free to share your answers to any of the above questions.

Leave a comment