21 Day Fix & Running

So, I’m finally to a point with my anxiety that I’ve got it under control enough that I feel like I can focus on working out again & losing weight. 

This is week 2 of me working out. Week 1 I did Country Heat by Beachbody & I started a Couch to 5k program. I’ve decided it’ll be easiest & I’ve got a better chance at success if I do the Beachbody workouts on the days my husband works & I do my running on the days he doesn’t. Week 1 I lost 2.3 lbs!

I was going to keep up with the Country Heat for week 2, but then I logged in to start the video & it said “elite” & that scared the crap out of me. I’m not coordinated AT ALL, & I even struggled through week 1 of Country Heat, but it was a good intro back to working out. 

So I decided to try 21 Day Fix. HOLY MOLY!!! I love it, yet i hate it. It’s pushing me. It’s pushing in a way I pushed myself when I was training for triathlons. I might complain that I have D.O.M.S., but really deep down inside, i LOVE it. This program is 21 days long (duh!) & I’m excited to see how much I’ve improved in those 3 wks.  
My running, I’m slow. But for some reason this time, seeing the slow paces I’m running doesn’t seem to bother me too much. 

With the Couch to 5k program, I run 3 times a week. Week 1, day 2, my pace was like a 15:40/mile. I ran around a paved trail at a nearby park. It has some slight hills, but if you’re not trained for it & you’re barely starting out running, they can kick your ass. Week 1, day 3, I ran from my parents house up to my old high school & ran around the track. My pace was a 14:30/ mile. Can you believe that???? That was a HUGE confidence boost that I needed. Granted there weren’t as many hills, but still. I’m excited to go running this week. I know doing the 21DayFix will help with my running to because I’m building muscle. 

Leave a Reply

