Just Keep Swimming

I started swimming again this week for the first time in months! I’m surprised my swim suit still fits & my goggles still work and my swim cap didn’t break when I put it on.

I’m super proud of myself because I got up at 5:00 a.m. Monday morning and went swimming. I am SO not a morning person. Plus, I didn’t get to bed until almost 12 a.m., so I was running on like 5 hrs of sleep. I actually woke up around 4:30 a.m. because the dog was whining, and from 4:30 – 5:00 a.m, the entire time I was trying to come up with excuses to not go. Lol.

Somehow I got my butt out of bed and over to the gym by 5:15 a.m. to swim. I was told to swim for 45 min. I wasn’t given specifics, so I made up my own. I did:

200 swim, 200 kick, 200 pull (warm up)
5 x 200 with 30 sec rest
200 cool down

I was a lot faster than I expected. The very first 200 I did in the warm up I did in about 4:09. The longest a 200 took me was 4:30. Last year when I was training for Boise 70.3, I got my 200 time down to about 3:50. So after how long of a hiatus in the pool and I come back and I can swim a 200 that fast? I was very pleasantly surprised. I’m excited to see my times get faster the more I’m in the water and the more I do weights too.

My arms hurt for a couple of days, just in time for me to get in to the pool again on Friday. Friday I had to swim for 60 minutes. Because this week was the first time in MONTHS that I’ve got in the pool, I wasn’t given strict instructions for the swimming workouts. I was just told to get “reacquainted with the pool and keep track of your distance”. Well, because of my anxiety I can’t just go to the pool and swim. I need to have structure and know what I need to be doing. I looked up some swim workouts online, and didn’t like anything. I even called my brother, who used to be on the high school swim team, and wasn’t really “excited” about what he was telling me. But, I was going to do his workout…until I got to the pool. I was pulling out my goggles, paddles and swim cap & saw an old swim workout in a baggie in my bag and that one looked fun. It didn’t seem overwhelming and I knew it would take me about 60 minutes to do, so that’s what I did.

200 swim, 200 kick, 200 pull (warm up)
4 x 100
200 steady
8 x 25
200 steady
8 x 25
4 x 100
200 cool down

By the end of this workout, my arms were T.I.R.E.D. I wanted to get this workout done earlier in the day, but due to other obligations, I wasn’t able to. I had to wait until I dropped the kids off at their mom’s house that night and then I went swimming. So, I did my swimming at 8 p.m. and didn’t get done until 9 p.m. It was weird swimming that late at night, but it was nice to have the pool all to myself too.

I looked at my workout schedule for this next week, and my swims, by the time I’m done, will be about 2800 yds total! I’m already trying not to get overwhelmed by them. Swimming is kind of tough because it gives my mind time to think. You can’t listen to music while you’re swimming like you can when you’re running or riding your bike, so my mind tends to wander, which causes anxiety. Lol.

This means, I’ve got to force myself to get up early on Monday and Friday so I can get my swim in too. It’s tough getting up early when those are the 2 nights that your husband is off and you actually get to sleep in the same bed together. Oh well. I’ll get it done.

Do you do any swimming?

Leave a Reply

