Swimming Drills

I found it rather ironic that when I got home from work yesterday there was an email sitting in my inbox from USAT about swim drills for triathletes. Why was it ironic? Because I’d just got home from the gym from doing swim drills myself.

I have to admit, I’m not a fan of swim drills. To me, they’re just boring. However, I do get the point of them, so I suck it up and do them. Right now, since I can’t run or bike, my coach has now added swim drills once a week back in to my workouts.

It’s been a while since I’ve done some swim drills, so I had to rack my brain ALL DAY long to remember which ones I needed to do in the pool. I could have taken the easy way out & just texted Coach to ask him, but I didn’t want to.

Here are some of the swim drills I did last night. I did 200 yds of each.

Fingertip Drag

Shark Fin

Catch-Up

Triple Switch

I think some of the swim drills that USAT mentioned are great drills as well. Next time I have to do drills I’ll definitely add some of those in.

Do you include swim drills in to your workouts?

5 thoughts on “Swimming Drills”

  1. I am still trying to get comfortable swimming for a length of time so my focus is just time doing laps right now but I know that I will remember these drills when I get to a point where I feel comfortable with it!

  2. Hah, I’m pretty lazy about swim drills. I should do them though, I’ve been the same speed for a year now, if I want to improve, I should do the drills!

  3. I’m with you – drills are hard to do – but they do help! I hadn’t seen that tripple one before – cool! Thanks for sharing!

Leave a comment