Back Issues

I’ve been having back issues for the past, oh, probably 6 months. Right down above my tailbone, in the small of my back, it hurts REALLY bad. It doesn’t feel like sciatica (had that when I was 2 1/2 months pregnant). I finally got tired of the pain and finally went to the doctor.

It took a month to get in to the doctor, but she did a physical exam and said that since I didn’t have any trauma to make my back hurt (I woke up one morning and got out of bed and it’s hurt ever since) that she wanted to do an MRI. I had an MRI on April 1st and it came back saying I had a moderately herniated disc between L5 and S1.

L5
See that spongy thing under L5 before you get to the sacrum? That’s the disc that the MRI says is herniated.

So, they said the treatment for that was a cortisone shot/epidural in my back and to do physical therapy. So I went in for the injection. It hurt like a b*tch. They told me it would take 3-4 days for it to kick in and for me to see a difference. I didn’t do physical therapy only because my husband started physical therapy right then for his shoulder so I talked to the P.T. & asked him how necessary P.T. was. He basically told me that one session would be good, but then he’d send me home with stretches and all would be good. Well, I figured since I’m doing the 21 Day Yoga Retreat through Beachbody that would work, so I didn’t do P.T.

3 weeks later and my back is still KILLING me. So, we called the doctor again. They’ve now prescribed me some Prednisone (fun, fun!) and told me to do P.T. This time I am doing P.T. I had my first session this last Monday.

My P.T. is awesome! I’ve been to him before when I broke my leg & ankle about 10 years ago. But, he listens to my story, does kind of a physical exam and starts working with me. Based off of my symptoms, he doesn’t think it’s a herniated disc. He thinks it has something to do with my S.I. Joint (I’m vaguely familiar with that). He did get concerned when at the end of the P.T. session I told him that when I walked in to therapy, my pain level was at a 4, but as I’m leaving it’s at a 7. NOTHING that we did in P.T. helped it and it should have relieved even the slightest bit of pain.

So, I got my P.T. a copy of my MRI and he’s going to take a look at it and see if he happens to see anything different. Yes, I know he’s not a doctor, but he’s got a lot of school and has to be familiar with how the body works to be a P.T.; therefore a second look at the MRI might help. Plus, we’ve decided to get a 2nd opinion on my back. I’ve got an appointment with a different doctor on Monday to see if they see anything different.

I just want my back to stop hurting. I can’t stand for long periods of time. I can’t sit for long periods of time. Yoga ends up being painful. Sitting on a bike hurts like a b*tch. Plus, when I go running, like clock work, at 1 1/2 miles, my left foot goes numb. I think, and so does my P.T., we think that has something to do with my back injury too.

So…I’ll keep you posted on all this crap too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

