Meat Muffins

I’m always on a quest for new recipes & healthy recipes. It helps if it’s a recipe that I can hide veggies in. My kids are SUPER picky and won’t eat any fruits or vegetables if they can see them. For example, the REFUSE to eat cauliflower. Well, I mashed up some cauliflower and mixed it in with our spaghetti sauce the other day & they had NO clue.

So, I had a co-worker share this recipe with me the other day, so I made it for dinner last night. DELICIOUS! He calls them meatballs, I call them meat muffins, because I think it’s more  fun.

1 lb Jenny O Ground Turkey ( I use 93% LEAN)
1 1/8 cup Kraft shredded cheddar cheese Fat Free
1 ½ Gala Apple (Medium) diced
1 Tablespoon Agave Syrup
2 medium Eggs
1 packet Oatfit Maple and Brown Sugar oatmeal
½ tablespoon McCormick Brown Sugar Bourbon seasoning

Preheat the oven with the rack in the center to 375*. In a medium mixing bowl combine all of the ingredients minus 1/8 cup of the shredded cheese. I prefer to use my hands so I can tell when it is consistently combined. Lightly spray a cupcake pan with a “light” cooking spray. Divide the mixture into 11 equal potions formed into balls and placed in the pan. These balls are about a ¼ cup each. I fill the empty spot in the pan with water to help even out the heat.

Place the pan in the oven and cook for approximately 35 minutes.

Carefully remove the pan when they are done and sprinkle the meatballs with the rest of the cheese. Let cool and enjoy.

The hardest part of this recipe is not eating the entire batch by yourself. 🙂 Just the facts:

Each Meatball is approximately:
Calories 116
Fat 3.7g
Saturated Fat 1.3g
Cholesterol  53.9mg
Sodium 173.4mg
Carbohydrates  7.7g
Fiber  1g
Sugars  4.2g
Protein  12.8g
Macros  Carbs-27% Protein-45% Fat 29%

I didn’t have all the exact ingredients. Instead of agave syrup, I just used pure maple syrup and instead of brown sugar  bourbon seasoning, I used a dry rub that I had in my pantry. Oh, and instead of chopping up the apple, I grated it up. I was afraid if there were chunks of apple, the kids would notice it and throw a fit. I think next time I’ll try chunking up the apple, or just using apple sauce. I was REALLY hoping for leftovers to bring for lunch today, but my husband and 11 month old scarfed up the rest.

Do you have a fast, quick recipe you like? If you try this, let me know how it goes. Can you think of other variations to this recipe?

Leave a Reply

