Co-Sleeping vs. Anxiety

Almost 1 year ago, I had Baby E. He has been a joy to have in our family. He’s added so much. 🙂 I remember while I was pregnant with him, both my husband I were both very strict that he would NOT sleeping in bed with us. Haha! That changed rather quick.

It’s been almost a year, and he’s been sleeping in bed with us almost every night. When he was born, we lived in a little 2 bedroom apartment. Our 2 older kids shared a bedroom, and then E’s crib was in our room. Well, when he woke up during the night to be fed, etc., obviously mom is tired, so I would sit back down in bed to feed him. And both of us would drift back off to sleep in bed. Therefore, that’s what he got used to.

We are now in a 3 bedroom apartment. Our daughter has her own room, and E’s crib is in with his 12 year old brother. With his 1st birthday rapidly approaching, I’ve decided to get serious about getting him to sleep in his crib.

Don’t get me wrong, I love co-sleeping because he’s my one and only baby and it’s fun to snuggle with him, etc., but the co-sleeping is causing me anxiety. It gives me anxiety because he sleeps in our bed and he is a very restless sleeper. He moves ALOT when he sleeps. Which leaves me hugging the side of the bed hoping I don’t fall off. Therefore, I get crappy sleep. E sleeps GREAT, but I’m dragging ass.

With E sharing a room with his brother though, it makes it hard to train him to sleep in his crib. He sits there and screams and cries, which keeps B awake, and that’s not fair. So, I came up with a solution:

army-cot
An Army Cot and sleeping bag.

 

An Army cot and sleeping bag will be B’s bed while we sleep train his little brother. He’s cool with it. I’d let him sleep on the couch, which I’m sure is more comfortable, but he still wets the bed occasionally, so I’d rather have him soak a sleeping bag than a couch. Lol.

But…now that we are sleep training E, it’s a double edged sword. I get anxiety sleep training him. The best method we’ve found for E is the “cry it out” method. We’ve talked to our Doctor, we’ve talked to a psychologist, and it won’t harm him at all. But, it sure gives me insane anxiety. Last night he cried non-stop for 20 minutes before he fell asleep. Then he’d sleep for 20 minutes and then wake up crying for 5 minutes or so. I had to take a Tylenol PM to help me sleep because the anxiety was so bad from hearing him cry. Eventually, my husband just brought him back in to bed with us. So, he slept a total of 3 hours in his crib last night. I guess that’s better than none. We will try again tonight.

We have classical/lullaby music playing to help him sleep too. But, he’s just stubborn (I can’t imagine where he gets that from *sarcasm*). This is needed, but it’s just going to be emotionally tough on me.

Thankfully, I’ve got a friend that’s been through it before and she’s a saint. I sent her a message on Facebook last night just sobbing because I couldn’t handle hearing E cry. We will get through this though. Yes we will.

Leave a Reply

