Holy War 5k

Today was my second race this season. Was I prepared for it? Not really. Did I have fun? You bet!!!

Here in Utah there is a HUGE rivalry between the University of Utah & Brigham Young University (BYU). When they play each other in football it’s called the Holy War. They are playing each other next weekend. So the entire week before it’s called Rivalry week & there’s alot of festivities. This year it started out with a 5k.

My old triathlon coach was part of the organization & he was able to help me in registering for the event.

I knew it was going to be a tough run because it was being held at Sugarhouse Park. There is one specific hill there that just kicks your trash if you’re not prepared for it. It’s a short hill, but it’s steep. 

I ran this race of course rooting for the U of U. I decided I’d push E in his stroller through the race too. Then I was guaranteed a running partner. 

I had no goals EXCEPT to do better than I did in the Be Well 5k that was last week. I started out the race fairly strong. Then I walked the hills. 

As I came through the first lap (had to run 2 laps of the park) my old Coach was there cheering me on how that felt good. 

Like always, as of late, around mile 2 of my run one of my feet falls asleep (I think I just need inserts in my shoes). That makes it tricky to run because I don’t want to be running & land wrong on my foot & go down all because my foot is numb. 

So the 2nd lap I walked the up hills & tried to run as much as I could. 

I finally ran in to the finish & finished in 43:18! That’s about an 8 min PR from my 5k last week. It gave me the confidence I needed to keep going with this running stuff. 

Here’s a few pictures from the race: 

My next race is on 10/1. It’s another 5k & it’s free!!! I’ve been lucky & have been able to find a lot of free races lately. 

What is your next race? 

Leave a Reply

