It’s Not About the Pace

“It’s not about the pace”…that’s the text I got from my husband during the middle of my run yesterday when I texted him complaining that I was going so slow. 

Ever since having my baby 6 months ago I’ve really struggled with getting back in to shape. I’m finally at a place where I feel I’m being consistent with my workouts, but some days it just feels like my running is NOT improving. Yesterday was one of those days. 

I took off on my run about 4:30 pm. It was hot outside, but I had to go then or I wasn’t going go. I decided I would run down to Wheeler Farm, make 2 loops of the trail & then run back. It equaled 3.16 miles. 

I felt strong on my run to the farm. But my pace wasn’t showing it. Then when I started on the trails, I was just hot. The heat was getting to me. I was slowing down even more.

After the first loop I made a potty break & got more water & sent my husband a text telling him this workout was kicking my ass. That’s when he told me it’s not about the pace. 

That reminded me of something one of the founders of the Idiots Running Club said once. He said it’s not about the pace. It’s about the effort. It’s not your pace that gets you through a 100 mile run. It’s the effort you’ve put in to your training.

I ended my run & had an average pace of 15:32/mile. I know if I do weights more, that will help improve my running. 

My next couple of runs are going to be on the treadmill so I can work on my speed. 

Leave a Reply

