Pat On the Back

I’m really wanting to blog more. I want this to be an outlet for me. I get too caught up in my day & my family that I forget to write & then when I do remember to write, it’s 9:30 pm & I’ve got a sleeping baby in my arms. That’s not very conducive to writing. Lol. 

I read a blog the other day & she had a link to a document that gives you a prompt on what to write every day. So I thought, no better time than to start now. 

Today’s prompt was to write about someone you’re proud of. 

I’m really proud of my son & daughter. Like I’ve mentioned before, they’re technically not my kids, but I have more of an influence on them than their mother, and from day 1, I’ve just referred to them as my kids. 

I’m proud of them because they didn’t come from the best environment. They were neglected, abused, etc. Don’t get me wrong, they still have their issues. They always will. But they’ve come a looooong ways. They’ve still got a long ways to go & improve, but they’ve improved alot too. 

B doesn’t have melt downs about stupid stuff as much any more (he had a meltdown over a donut once) & he’s better at controlling his anger. 

T has come leaps & bounds in her school work. When we got her, she was in 6th grade & was on a 2nd grade reading level. She’s now going in to 9th grade & is between a 6th & 7th grade reading level. By the time she graduates high school she will be completely caught up. She LOVES to read now. So much so that I have to tell her to put the book down & do her other homework too. 

Both kids have put on more weight. They were insanely under weight when we got them. They’re still picky eaters, but I sure hope one day they’ll expand their minds & try new things. 

We definitely have our days that are battles, but I’m super proud of them too. 

Leave a Reply

