Goals

I’m already trying to set goals to keep me motivated to do my workouts.

Back in 2013 I did my first 1/2 Ironman and I LOVED it. My ultimate goal is to do a full Ironman.

I hope I’m not being too optimistic, but I feel like I’m bouncing back to running and biking fairly well, after not doing it for almost a year. So, I’m thinking in 2017 I want to do the St. George 70.3 and then in 2018 attempt my first Ironman (not sure which one).

I’ve got plenty of time to train for both races. But, it was brought up last night, that it does take A LOT of time to train for a 1/2 and full Ironman. My friend compared it to having a second job for 3-4 months. With currently having a 2 1/2 month old in the house, am I being unrealistic about wanting to do a 1/2 Ironman next year? I’ve held down 2 jobs at once before and our family seems to do ok. Do we like it? No. But it’s what we had to do at the time, so we did it.

I brought this up to my husband last night and he said ok, but I’m not sure he fully understands the time commitment it will take.

What are your thoughts/opinions on all of this? Have you trained for a 70.3 or 140.6 with small children at home?

Leave a Reply

