Taking It to the Streets

Yesterday I had my first run outside in over a year. It took ALOT for me to get out there.

As I’ve said in earlier posts I deal with anxiety & depression. I take meds that help control it, but sometimes a certain incident will trigger it & I’ll have a TERRIBLE anxiety attack. That happened yesterday about 3:30 p.m.

Lately I’ve been running on the treadmill at my apartment complex to help with my speed. I find that is the best way to build my speed. But with my anxiety yesterday, the treadmill just wasn’t an option.

My anxiety yesterday felt like it paralyzed me. All I could do was lie in bed & cover my whole body with a blanket & cry & move my legs like with restless leg syndrome. I knew that working out would help my anxiety, but getting past the anxiety & out the door was a whole different story.

I posted on Facebook about how I was having an anxiety attack & I got all sorts of encouragement. Thank you to all that provided it. But one person that gave me encouragement is what got me out the door.

My friend Dave is currently in a rehab center because a couple of weeks ago he was diagnosed with Guillan-Barre Syndrome. He lost ALL strength in his legs. He’s basically having to learn to walk again. He posts about his progress & everything on Facebook daily & he is SO positive about the whole situation. He commented on my post last night & gave me words of encouragement. It was like a light bulb went off in my head. If he can be positive & get through GB Syndrome, I can get through this anxiety attack & go run. And that’s exactly what I did.

It happened to be my best run so far since coming back. I ran 3 miles at a 12:20 pace. There were 2 killer hills on my route too. I’ve still got LOTS of room to improve, but I’m doing better than I thought I would be.

Do you get anxiety attacks? If so, how do you deal/cope with them?

Leave a Reply

