E’s Birth Story

It’s been almost 7 weeks, and I’m finally getting around to typing up E’s birth story. Life has been crazy to say the least.

So, my due date was January 30, 2016. All of my doctor appointments leading up to it, I had only dilated to 1 cm. It was super frustrating. I went in for my first Non-Stress Test on February 1st.

I remember, my husband was supposed to go in to work that day, but he just had a “feeling” that he shouldn’t. So, at 8:30 a.m., we headed to the doctor to have the non-stress test.

They hooked me up to the monitors & E’s heart rate was doing good, but it wasn’t accelerating like it was supposed to. They even tried to get him to react to noise, but he just wasn’t having it. So, they sent me down to labor & delivery to be monitored.

I knew something was up when they put us in a labor & delivery room & not a triage room. All the other times I’d gone to labor & delivery, they put me a triage room. This time they put me in a L&D Room 10 (My lucky #).

The nurse came in and said “So, it looks like we’re inducing you today.” That was news to us. We thought we were just going down to be monitored. So, she double checked & came back & said yes we were being induced.

They decided to induce me using a Foley Bulb. They inserted the foley bulb at 11:00 a.m. and said they’d leave it in until 11 pm and if it hasn’t fallen out by itself, which it usually does by the time you reach 5 cm, then they take it out.

Shortly after they put the foley bulb in, I got a call from the nurse at my doctor’s office. My next appointment was supposed to be that Thursday & they called to see if I wanted to move my appointment to Wednesday. I informed them that I was down in labor & delivery right then and we all had a good giggle because the nurses & doctors had forgot to inform my doctor that they were inducing me. Lol.

We called my dad to let him know he’d need to pick up the older 2 kids from school & spend the night with them because we were going to have a baby. They brought them by that night though just to say hi really quick.

I decided around 8 pm that night that I wanted to get an epidural. The pain wasn’t anything I couldn’t handle, but if I was going to get ANY sleep that night so that I’d have the energy to push this kid out I was going to need to have some pain relief.

I didn’t have to wait long for the anesthesiologist to come in and the process of getting the epidural wasn’t that bad. I was numb enough to not feel the contractions any more, but I didn’t feel like dead weight on the bed either.

At 11 pm they came & took the foley bulb out and I was dilated to a 4. I was excited because I thought I was actually getting somewhere. They didn’t check me again until 1 a.m.

At this point I had gotten maybe 30-45 min of sleep. The hospital beds are terribly uncomfortable. The nurse had a hard time determining how far dilated I was because my cervix was really high, so she had the resident doctor come in. I was still dilated to a 4, so they decided to break my water. WEIRDEST. FEELING. EVER.

At one point they had me lay on my side & put one of my legs up in the stirrup because the baby wasn’t tolerating me being on my back.

They kept checking me about every 2 hours. At about 6 a.m., the nurse said I was at 5 cm. I was really getting my hopes up. Then at shift change and about 8 a.m., my doctor came in & she checked me and said nope, I was still at 4 cm. What a blow! That really depressed me.

By 11:00 a.m., I was still dilated to 4 cm. My doctor said I could keep going if I wanted to, but by this time I was physically & emotionally exhausted. I wanted this to be done with. So, we went in for a c-section.

The anesthesiologist came back in, and it was the same guy. He up’d my epidural and wheeled me off to the OR. It is SO weird being numb so much. I laid there on the operating table and it felt like one of my legs was bent at the knee, but my husband assured me that both of my legs were flat down on the table. They actually tie down your legs so that they don’t just fall off the table or anything.

At 12:19 p.m. I had my baby boy! He was 7 lbs 11 oz and 18 1/2 inches long. I remember when they told me how much he weighed I asked them “Are you sure?” because we all thought I was going to have a bigger baby.

The reason I wasn’t dilating more and I would’ve probably had to go in for a c-section eventually was because the cord was wrapped around the baby’s neck. He came out kind of blue and it took him a minute to pink up and actually cry.

When they were tying off my tubes and sewing me back up, my husband came walking over with the baby. E was already hungry! He was fussing, so the only thing my husband could do was put his finger in the baby’s mouth & he just sucked away.

Once they wheeled me back to recovery I got to have 1 hour of skin to skin time with my baby. That was the most precious time. I absolutely loved it!

After skin to skin time, they wheeled me up to the 2nd floor where I stayed for 3 more days & then I was ready to bail on the place.

I’ll try & do additional posts about the rest of my time in the hospital & what has been going on since. In the meantime, here are a couple of pictures.

 

Skin to skin.jpg
Skin to skin time with mommy

Baby E.jpg

3 thoughts on “E’s Birth Story”

  1. Awww what a great story! I was induced as well and I agree with you about the water breaking. Such a crazy feeling. In my case I had SO much water it went everywhere. TMI maybe? lol So happy for you guys!

Leave a Reply

