My New Job

I know I’ve mentioned this before, but when I was a little kid & I was always asked “What do you want to be when you grow up?” my answer was always that I wanted to be a cashier.

When I was about 5-7 yrs old, my grandma & grandpa lived in an old little railroad town in Nevada. I remember going & visiting them & going to the grocery store & as we were standing in line just watching the cashier. It was something I was FASCINATED by.

Now fast forward 30 yrs. I’m almost 35 yrs old & I’m going back to my roots. I just quit an office manager job because it was too stressful, among other things. You will now find me with 2 part time jobs…both of them I am a cashier. And you know what? I LOVE it! It’s something I’m good at.

When I was in high school, I was a cashier at a department store. Then I moved up on the ladder of cashiering & I got a job at a store that’s similar to Wal-Mart, but more expensive. They have the groceries, clothes, everything. While I was at that store I was given the award of fastest cashier with the most accuracy.

I then took a break from cashiering & tried out corporate America. I had a bunch of different jobs. Call center jobs, payroll jobs, etc.

I find it interesting that I’ve kind of gone full circle now & I’m back to cashiering again.

I just hate the training you have to go through. Ugh. It’s a fairly simple job. But…you gotta do what you gotta do.

Since I won’t be working in corporate America any more & I won’t have a strict 9-5 schedule, I’m wondering if it might be a little easier to get my workouts in. I don’t know. Maybe I’m just dreaming.

I guess we’ll just see how it goes. I’m happy to be back doing something I love & something I’m good at.

Leave a Reply

