Should I or Shouldn’t I?

One bad thing about lap swimming is it gives my mind plenty of time to wander. Monday I was swimming 4 x 500 and somehow I’m able to keep track of what lap # I’m on and my mind wanders at the same time. It SUCKS. I tend to overthink a lot of things during this time as well.

On Monday, this is what was going through my mind during my swim workout:

I’m seriously debating dropping out of my 70.3 this fall. I’m thinking of seeing if I can transfer my bib to the olympic distance race at the same venue & day.

My training just hasn’t been consistent enough. I’m NO WHERE near where I want to be as far as my times, etc. My swimming is incredibly slow. I can’t even run a 10 min mile. My weights & core workout hasn’t been consistent either.

Compared to when I was training for the Boise 70.3, I’m not even close to where I should be physically.

Could I do the 70.3 and finish it? Probably. Would I be happy with my time? Probably not. Would I beat myself up over it? Probably.

I’ve still got a little bit of time to think about it, but I’m seriously debating it.

If you were in my position, what would you do?

1 thought on “Should I or Shouldn’t I?”

  1. I would do what felt right to me. If you are going to beat yourself up over it its not worth it – maybe the Olympic distance is going to feel better. Just know that its not you, its life, and make the right decision for you!

Leave a Reply

