One Year Ago This Weekend

One year ago this weekend I achieved one of my goals. I completed my first 1/2 Ironman. You can read the recap here.

It’s crazy to look back on the past year. Leading up to my 1/2 Ironman last year, I was hoping to do a full Ironman this year, but after I finished last year, I felt like I needed to get one more 70.3 under my belt before tackling a full Ironman.

Last year, I could count on doing a race, whether it be a 5k, 10k, sprint triathlon, Olympic triathlon, etc., at least once a month. Now, it’s June and I have done 1 race so far this year. It was a 5k in March.

Boy how life has changed since completing the Boise 70.3 last year. Leading up to the race last year, my world revolved around triathlon training. I met my boyfriend about 1/2 way through training for my 70.3, but my life still revolved around training for this race. Now…not so much.

I remember going in to a big funk/depression after finishing my 1/2 Ironman. My coach at the time told me it was completely normal. But, at the time, I had no desire to workout, nothing. It lasted for quite a while too. I signed up for a 1/2 marathon in October to help with it. That helped, but after finishing the 1/2 marathon, I just kind of went back in to the funk.

After the first of the year, to get my mojo back, and to help achieve my goals, I signed up for this 70.3.

This race is put on by TriUtah.
This race is put on by TriUtah.

But, with how things have changed from last year to this year, triathlon training isn’t on the forefront any more. Like I mentioned in this post, my boyfriend and I now have custody of his 2 kids. His kids are VERY troubled and have been through a lot this year, so that now takes priority, and with my 2 jobs, there just isn’t as much time for training any more.

It’s definitely an adjustment going from having your life revolve around training to having it revolve around other things, but I’ll tell you this. It’s worth it. There are days I definitely struggle with knowing that triathlon training isn’t a priority any more, but I have to keep reminding myself it’ll all be ok.

I eventually want to do the Boise 70.3 again because I want to better my time on the course. One day, maybe I’ll be able to afford it. In the meantime, my goal is to just get as many of my workouts in as I can and know that as long as I finish my 70.3 in September, that’s all that matters. Time isn’t a goal this time around.

My goal next year is to do Ironman 70.3 St George and then a month later do the Ironman Coeur d’Alene. Hopefully by later this year, life will have settled down a little bit and once again, I can concentrate a little more on triathlon training. I guess we’ll just have to wait and see.

P.S. Sorry if this post was a giant ramble.

4 thoughts on “One Year Ago This Weekend”

  1. I agree…I think it will all come together for you! It sounds like a tough transition you are going through. I hope you find that balance and are able to get back to racing again soon!

  2. Your heart really needs to be in it to enjoy it. I can understand if your heart isn’t in training right now, I’ve been there! You’ll get that spark back soon!

Leave a Reply

