Fundraising

I’ve been kind of hush-hush about things lately, but thought I’d let you guys, my blogging friends, in on a little something.

The past 5 months…my life has changed DRASTICALLY. Back in January, the boyfriend and I found out about things that were going on with the kids at their mom’s house. These things shouldn’t have been going on, so we took immediate action to get custody of his kids.

After a HUGE retainer fee for a lawyer, a bigger apartment (more rent), a bigger grocery bill (these kids & me being a triathlete, we eat ourselves out of house & home), money has gotten VERY tight.

I can only work a part time job because my hours need to be flexible for the kids. I need to be able to take them & pick them up from school, they’ve got therapy appointments every week, we can’t leave them alone in the afternoon, so I’m definitely not making as much money as I used to.

I don’t know if you remember this post, but both the boyfriend and I have come to the conclusion that it was kind of a blessing in disguise that I was laid off from that job. Was I making more money? Yes. But if I was still at that job today, there is NO way they’d be flexible like I need to be to help take care of the kids.

With that being said…now that we have two extra mouths to feed, we have more rent for our bigger apartment, and everything, I no longer have the money to support my triathlon habit. I don’t even have the money to buy new tri shorts so I can workout. Next year my goal is to do the St George 1/2 Ironman and do Ironman Coeur d’Alene. Sadly…these races aren’t cheap. Just to register for both races will be about $750. That doesn’t include travel, hotel, training, etc.

I HATE asking for money. I just do. But…the only way I’m going to be able to make my dreams come true is if I ask for help. I was told about a website called GoFundMe.com. Have you heard of it? It’s pretty awesome. I’ve set up a page there and if you feel so inclined to donate, it’s appreciated. I’ve put a wishlist on there so you can see what the money is being spent for.

With all that being said…if you want to read “my story” about how I became a 1/2 Ironman and why I so badly need to do a full Ironman, I’ve wrote a couple of blogs posts about it. You can read them here and here.

If you feel so inclined to donate, please click here. I would be forever grateful to you!

5 thoughts on “Fundraising”

  1. Got your back girl. Can’t give much, but I did what I can. If I can donate more later – you’re first on my list. I’d rather give to someone I know, and someone who is going to do good with the money! ❤

Leave a Reply

