1/2 Ironman Training

A loooong time ago, I signed up for this 1/2 Iron distance race. It’s not an “official” Ironman, but it’s the same length. I’m excited. I’m nervous.

This is the first week of training & it’s been hectic, to say the least. However, I’m pretty proud of myself. So far, I’ve only missed 1 workout and that was in thanks to a killer headache I woke up with.

This is my training plan this week:

Monday:
Swim – 200 swim, 200 kick, 200 pull, 200 swim, 1 x 1500 & then 4 x 50
Run – 40 minutes, very easy

Tuesday:
Bike – 60 minutes, road or trainer, all small chain work, low effort
Run – 30 min at easy pace

Wednesday:
Swim – 4 x 75, last 25 is backstroke, 3 x 400, 150 easy

Thursday:
Run – 60 minutes long run, easy pace

Friday:
Swim – 400 continuous, 8 x 100, 6 x 25
Bike – 15 min warm up, warm down with easy spinning in the small ring. 15 middle minutes in big ring, but still not a hard effort. If on the road, concentrate on constant pedaling with minimal free wheeling

Saturday:
Off – REST

Sunday:
Bike – 90 minute ride. Mental strength day – try to get outside today regardless of weather. Easy pace.

I’ve had to make a few adjustments here & there because I haven’t been running for a while, so I’m rebuilding my running, but otherwise, for the most part, the schedule is exactly par on. 🙂

Good thing Saturday is a rest day. We are SUPER busy that day. We’re signing T up for girl scouts, then she’s got a softball clinic, plus, we want to take T & B to the Home Depot kids workshop that morning too. Whew! I’m exhausted just reading it all.

I’m excited to build up my running though & rebuild up my strength & get in to this training.

1 thought on “1/2 Ironman Training”

Leave a Reply

