Back to School

Back 2 SchoolI’m headed back to school…again. If you recall, in August 2013, I enrolled in school at Eagle Gate College in their Personal Fitness Training program. I was doing really well. I even got awards for attendance. But, then, come January 2014, things started to fall apart.

We had a family crisis and that was just a little more important than school. Plus, the school was forcing me to go full time. That made me really mad, because when I signed up for school, they were all about doing anything & everything they could to help me succeed. I had told them that I had tried going to school many times before, but I was going full time and that was really stressing me out, so that was no longer an option for me. When I enrolled, they ensured me that I could complete the program as a part time student. So, I’m sure you could imagine my surprise when they told me my only option was to go full time & finish the course. I was upset, and to be honest, so was the program director. I had let him know of my family crisis and I let him know that full time just wasn’t an option for me. He was willing to do directive study with me (where you only have class once a week for about 3 1/2 hrs with him) and he was willing to do anything it took to keep me enrolled, but the president of the Salt Lake campus said no. The program director was also really upset and as disappointed as I was.

So, going full time, plus my family crisis, school just wasn’t an option any more. Family was more important.

I got a text a couple of weeks ago from the program director at the school that they have moved the PFT program from the Salt Lake campus to the Murray campus and that if I wanted, I could come back again and continue the program part time.

Now that life has slowed down and become somewhat normal again, I’ve re-enrolled in school. To my surprise, I don’t have much left to finish. I’ve only got 6 classes (that are 5 weeks each), plus my externship to do and then I can graduate. Then, once I graduate, I have to go to Las Vegas for a bootcamp type thing and take the NSCA certification exam.

So far, I’ve gone to one class…and it kicked my butt!!! This class is a program design class. I’m excited about it. But…at our first class, we had to find out what our 1 RM (rep max) is with the weighted squat. Lol.

These are TOUGH!!!
These are TOUGH!!!

Just the bar itself weighs 45 lbs. I forewarned everyone that I haven’t been doing weights much, so mine won’t be very much. I was able to do 6 squats, but they weren’t pleased with how far I could squat, because I’m not very flexible. So…the instructor had me do walking lunges around the outside of the building. I was going to count how many lunges I did, but then I lost track cause it was starting to hurt. Lol. Needless to say, Tuesday & today, everything from my waist down hurts!!! Oh well…it’s a good kind of hurt, ya know?

Tonight, in class, we’re taking a practice NSCA certification exam. Needless to say, I’m nervous. It’ll be interesting to see how it goes.

I have to say…I’m a little nervous this time around about school though. I’ve got school 2 days a week, my boyfriend & I have his kids now PLUS I’m training for a 1/2 Ironman. To me, that just sounds like ALOT. Don’t forget, I’m going on vacation at the end of July, which I’m sure is in the middle of school AND smack dab in the middle of 1/2 Ironman training too. ARGHHHHH!!!! Stress!!!

Any tips on how to handle the stress of all of this?

5 thoughts on “Back to School”

  1. Personal training classes sound great! I eventually want to get certified so I can have more stuff under my belt!! Does sound a little hectic as far as you schedule goes but I’m sure in the end it’ll all be worth it when you can do what you love, train clients and make extra income.

  2. Glad you were able to re-enroll. Maybe to keep your stress down don’t look too far ahead on the syllabus/training plan? Just stay in the current week. If you look too far ahead you might feel overwhelmed. Good luck with it all!

  3. Awesome that you were able to re-enroll. Don’t look ahead, take it one week at a time. That’s what I’m doing. I also keep a list of three things I must do in a day – anything else I get done is a bonus. Today, I’m rolling! Good luck, and keep us updated!

Leave a Reply

