Emigration Canyon Ride

The other night, I finally took my bike outside & rode up Emigration Canyon. For my friends not in Utah, we have 4 major canyons along the Wasatch Front and they go from Hard to Easy, starting with Big Cottonwood Canyon, Little Cottonwood Canyon, Millcreek Canyon and then Emigration Canyon. Emigration Canyon is the easiest…but it’s still hard to ride.

I get nervous the first ride each year. This year I was SUPER nervous because I haven’t been as active as I should be and I don’t have the muscle tone back that I used to have (I’m working on it).

It’s about 7 1/2 miles up and then 7 1/2 miles back down. You gain about 1800 ft in elevation.

It's a tough ride
It’s a tough ride

It took me 52 minutes to get to the top and only 22 minutes to ride down. Lol. I burned over 800 calories.

One thing that sucks about the ride is on the way up, you have to ride past Ruth’s Diner! It smells SO good! I’m always hungry when I’m on my bike and riding up and having to smell Ruth’s Diner doesn’t help.

It's been on Diner's, Drive-In's & Dives on the Food Network
It’s been on Diner’s, Drive-In’s & Dives on the Food Network

I have decided to make a goal though. My goal is by the last ride up Emigration Canyon this season I want to be able to ride up the canyon faster than I did the first time. I don’t care if it’s by seconds or by minutes. But I want to be faster!

1 thought on “Emigration Canyon Ride”

Leave a Reply

