SoJo Race 2014

marathonLast year I ran the SoJo 1/2 Marathon. After a couple of weeks, I found out that I had taken 1st place in my age group! I was super stoked.

Well, yesterday, I was checking my email, and because I came in first in my age group last year, I won free entry in to the race this year. I totally wasn’t expecting it.

I was given the option to race either the full marathon, half marathon or 5k. I’ve been wanting to train for another full marathon lately. Plus, I need all the motivation I could get.

So, I filled out the paperwork yesterday and am now registered for the SoJo Full Marathon on October 18, 2014. Then, I realized, this is only 4 weeks after my Half Ironman. Lol. My training for my full marathon will start about half way through my training for my 1/2 Ironman. Oh, and don’t forget, I’m going on vacation during all of this to San Diego, so I’ve got to figure out how to get all my training and miles in during vacation too.

It’s slightly overwhelming, but at the same time I’m super excited. It’s giving me the push and motivation that I need. Oh, and don’t forget I’ve got a 62 mile bike ride coming up at the end of April too. Lol.

I’m thinking of trying to find some extra money somewhere, somehow, so I can hire my coach again. I think that would help alot.

What training plans do you use for full marathon training? Do you have a coach?

3 thoughts on “SoJo Race 2014”

  1. I love Hal Higdon’s plans. I use them quite often while training for my races.

    Congrats on the AG win! I’ve placed in a few races…but also in a full marathon (a VERY small race) and I remember I was super thrilled just to actually say I placed in that distance. It helps to run small, very local races. haha.

Leave a Reply

