Christmas Cheer!

This year Christmas is very different for me. It’s taking me a while to get in the Christmas spirit. Usually, the day after Thanksgiving I am ready to put up Christmas decorations & decorate the house etc., but now that I’m living with Rob, he doesn’t put his Christmas tree up until about the middle of December. His son’s birthday is the first part of December and he doesn’t want his son’s birthday to be overshadowed by Christmas, so no Christmas decorations get put up until after his birthday. Totally understandable. But then, the other day, I heard one of my favorite Christmas songs on the radio & it got me excited. Plus, it helped that we got our first big snow storm of the season.

But, then I read this girl’s blog & she had a Christmas survey & that got me excited, so I thought I’d do the survey too!

Does Santa wrap presents or just sit them under the tree? Santa always wraps presents.
Colored lights on tree/house or white? I like the colored lights. They’re more traditional.
Do you hang mistletoe? Nope. Maybe this year I’ll get kissed under the mistletoe though. 🙂
What is your favorite holiday dish…excluding dessert? You can never go wrong with candied yams!
Favorite holiday memory as a child? I remember sitting on the floor on Christmas Eve and my dad was reading us “The Night Before Christmas”, I looked out the window & saw a shooting star & my dad told us that was Santa Claus. I’ve never gone to bed so fast! Lol.
Snow? Love it or dread it? I love to watch it snow & I love how it makes everything look so clean, but I HATE driving in it.
Real tree or fake tree? Fake. There is too much maintenance with a real tree. But the fake tree has to be big & bushy!
What’s the most important thing about Christmas for you? I love how kind everybody is at Christmas. My family isn’t big in to traditions, etc., so to be honest, spending time with my family on Christmas isn’t that big a deal. Hopefully now that I have Rob, we can make our own traditions. 🙂
What is your favorite holiday dessert? Nagadoches. It’s a cross between cake & a brownie. It is SOOOO good!
What is your favorite tradition? When I was a kid, we used to drive up to Park City on Christmas Day, have a picnic in our car, watch people ski down the slopes, then we’d go over to a nearby golf course & go golf ball hunting.
What tops your tree? Usually some kind of a star, or one year, we had a fireman themed Christmas tree, so a fire hat topped our tree.
What is your favorite Christmas song? I have lots, but I think this has got to be one of my favorites:

What do you leave for Santa? When I was a kid, it was Oreo’s.
Do you have a Christmas morning tradition? My mom & dad would wake us up, we’d always get pastries/donuts from the local bakery the day before. We’d eat breakfast & then take turns opening presents. I don’t know what Rob & I will do this year. We don’t get his kids until Christmas afternoon, so we might just sleep in! Yay!!!
Do you prefer to shop online or at the mall? This year I’ve done online shopping & I LOVE it!

Your turn! Answer 1 or all of these questions!

1 thought on “Christmas Cheer!”

Leave a Reply

