Thanksgiving

I can’t believe it’s already December 3rd. I can’t believe Thanksgiving is over. Gah! It’s been a whirlwind of a year, hasn’t it?

I hope everybody had a great Thanksgiving. Mine was different this year. This year, I wasn’t with my mom and dad, I was with Rob and his kids. I was excited for this year because Rob boasted about how last year his turkey was SO good because he smoked it and marinated it in apple juice and he was going to do the same this year.

I’m happy to say the turkey was DIVINE!!! Can you believe it though…Rob doesn’t like pumpkin pie!!! I think that’s un-American!!! That’s a staple at Thanksgiving. Lol. I always have to give him a little crap about it. I told him that I didn’t care if he liked pumpkin pie or not, by hell, I was going to have pumpkin pie. Good thing his son likes pumpkin pie.

One of my favorite things at Thanksgiving dinner is candied yams too. Guess what? Rob and the kids don’t like that either. But, I just got a small can of yams & made some just for me! It was DELICIOUS!!! I tried to get the kids to try it, but they wouldn’t.

The one downer about Thanksgiving is Rob’s apartment is SO small that it was hard to cook. At one time, Rob was getting ready to bring the turkey in from outside, I was making mashed potatos and stuffing (from a box) and the rolls just came out of the oven, plus the pies were cooling on the counter and I told him “Good luck in finding a spot for the turkey!”. There just wasn’t much room. We don’t have a dinner table because there’s not enough room, so we just used TV trays, so we couldn’t put stuff on the table either. Somehow, we made it work though.

I find it sad that his kids DO NOT like vegetables. His daughter likes corn though, so I made sure we had corn.

We didn’t do much all day. I made sure to go to the gym and get a 90 min bike ride in, but that’s about it.

We ate dinner,then had some pie & then just relaxed the rest of the evening. I think we caught part of the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade, but not much. I try & not have the TV on very much when the kids are over.

Did you guys have a Thanksgiving? Did you go somewhere? What is your favorite food dish that HAS to be at Thanksgiving dinner?

3 thoughts on “Thanksgiving”

Leave a Reply

