Me vs. Treadmill

The treadmill and I don’t get along. I’ve known this for quite some time. When running on the treadmill, it changes how I run and I end up with shin splints. But, with Utah weather, and with my schedule as it is, sometimes, running outside isn’t an option. So, I made a deal with myself that I would only run on the treadmill once a week. All the other times I need to run, I need to either run outside or I need to use the elliptical trainer (sigh).

Well, I got on the treadmill last night to do my speed work (5 x 3 min at hard pace with 2 min easy between) and about 0.5 miles in to the run, my shins started to hurt. I kept running for a little bit to see if it would get better and the pain would come and go. So, to stay safe, I called it quits at 1 mile.

It’s SO frustrating. I just want to be able to get all of my workouts in. I want to not have to worry about shin splints.

I know one of the reasons I’m starting to get shin splints again is because I need new running shoes. My running shoes have quite a few miles on them. I got them prior to my Half Ironman in June and I’ve put a lot of miles on them preparing for the 70.3 and since then. Too bad I can’t afford a new pair of running shoes right now, huh? A pair of running shoes costs me $110 and then I need to get special inserts for them and those cost $40. Unfortunately, I just don’t have $150 lying around. Not sure what I’m going to do.

In the meantime, I guess the treadmill is out of the question forever, and I’ll be wearing compression socks A LOT and taking ice baths.

5 thoughts on “Me vs. Treadmill”

  1. I hate shin splints. They are awful. The toe raises really helped me. I usually do about 25-50 reps on either leg every day or every other day, and I haven’t been getting shin splints anymore. And this was after having to stop running for almost two weeks because of them, so they’re definitely worth a try. You could also try a good shock-absorbing insole from a reputable shoe store. There’s a really good guide on this which you can check out here: never-never-never-give-up.com

Leave a Reply

