Long Swim Meltdown

This blog post might be all over the place and might not make a whole lot of sense, but I was having major anxiety this morning and just had to put my thoughts down.

This morning was TOUGH. I had a meltdown. I had a HUGE meltdown. What was my meltdown over? A steady 2,000 yard swim. Yes, you read that right. A meltdown over a 2,000 yard swim.

Some days are either than others, but this morning, 2,000 yards in a pool (80 lengths of the pool), without stopping, just seemed WAY overwhelming to me.

Lap pool

It’s weird because I’ve swam this swim workout countless amounts of time. While I was training for Boise 70.3, I even swam 4,000 yards. I think one reason I had a meltdown this morning is because I’ve not been as strict with my workouts since I finished Boise 70.3 I’ve had a hard time finding my mo-jo. Last time I did this swim workout, it took me 42+ minutes to swim 2,000 yds. where right before Boise 70.3, I was able to do it in 38 minutes. I realize my time has slowed down because of my own doing (not doing weights), but it’s still frustrating.

Thank God for Rob and having patience with me. He was able to talk some sense in to me. He had to keep reminding me that time doesn’t matter right now. What matters is that I’m at least doing it. I’ve made progress from where I was 1, 2, 3 years ago.

Rob made a good point and he thinks I’m trying TOO hard. Hence, why I am getting over shin splints. I don’t go out and just run. I go out and I push myself…maybe too hard. I need to not be so competitive. I need to step back and remember why I do this. I do this because it is something I love.

Do you get overwhelmed by workouts? If so, how do you deal with it? How do you get your workout mo-jo back?

2 thoughts on “Long Swim Meltdown”

  1. I do think it’s easy to get overwhelmed with it all and be overly competitive with yourself. I am definitely not an awesome triathlete like you 🙂 but in the past year I’ve definitely had to take a step back with always pushing and racing every single wknd and my focus this year has shifted a bit. I think it’s just the ebb and flow of being an athlete. You will get there just be patient with yourself and relax and enjoy it for what it is. I do think strength and core work are an important part of training and that’s why I’m incorporating more yoga/dynamic stretching/weights, it has really made a difference. You will get that fire back 🙂

  2. While training for my 70.3 I was overwhelmed by ANY swim workout. Especially the longer ones. Sometimes I just had to shut my brain down as best as possible. I ended up changing my training plan and swimming by time and not distance and it seemed more manageable to me.

Leave a Reply

