Blessing In Disguise

I’m kind of sad because I’m getting ready to do what is likely my last race of the triathlon season. Right now, the last race I’m signed up for is the Spudman Olympic Tri in Burley, ID on 7/27/13. I really want to do the Jordanelle Triathlon on 8/18/13, but right now, finances just aren’t allowing it. Doing Boise 70.3 really depleted my pocketbook. With that being said, I’m re-thinking doing two 70.3’s next year. Lol.

But, I’m starting to think that it might be a good idea that the Spudman is my last race this year. Why? Lucky me, I’ve got the beginnings of shin splints…again.

I do find it kind of odd that I’m getting shin splints this late in the season. I’m used to getting shin splints in the late winter, early spring due to running on the treadmill too much (due to weather), but I find it odd that I’m getting them late in the season.

Because I get shin splints a lot though, I know what to do. Since I’ve caught them early this time, I’m icing my shins down a lot, wearing compression socks almost 24/7 and taking ice baths (brrrr). I ran 5 miles last night and my shins ached a little throughout the run, but not enough to call the run quits. I was supposed to run 6 miles today, but I was up until 1:00 a.m. helping manfriend finish up some stuff for work, so I wasn’t getting my butt up at 5:30 to get a 6 mile run in before work and I’ve got my brother’s birthday tonight. So running 6 miles is kind of out of the question today.

My stress level today says I need to find time to go run 6 miles, but my calendar just isn’t making that happen. So, I’m trying to look at it as a good rest day to let my shins heal a little.

Stressed = Need to run!
Stressed = Need to run!

When I do get shin splints, I can do the elliptical trainer every once in a while, but after a while, that just bores the hell out of me and it makes my feet fall asleep.

So, why am I trying to look at it as a blessing? Because I’ve only got 1 more race (Spudman) left and it’s a super easy course. It’s flat as a pancake. So, even if I take a few rest days to help my shins, I know I can run the 6 miles no problem. Plus, I don’t have to stress about missing a race if I have to take extra time off because of my stupid shins.

The only thing that is frustrating is that I ALWAYS get shin splints. I’ve tried EVERYTHING to prevent them. I’ve got fairly new shoes, I wear special inserts to help, and I’ve dramatically decreased my treadmill time and run outside more. I really work on not heal-striking when I run…and I still get shin splints. It’s frustrating. But, what do you do? You deal with it, rest up and move on.

How many races do you have left this season?

Leave a Reply

