Running In the Heat

We’ve been having some serious heat waves here in Utah. Granted, it’s nothing like the temps in Arizona and Las Vegas I’ve been seeing on the news. That’s just CRAZY!! But, I feel like I’m living on the sun. Then, add in the wonderful humidity that we get here in Utah too and it’s just not fun.

When it gets this hot, it calls for drastic changes in when and where I do my running workouts. I wish I could just do all my running on the treadmill, indoors, where it is cooler, but the treadmill doesn’t like me and it hurts me if I run on it too much (shin splints).

I had to do an 8 mile run on Sunday. It was SUPER hot during the day and I’m not an early riser in the morning. So, I put my run off until 7:30 p.m. that night. It was still REALLY hot. I made sure I took LOTS of water with me. I even took extra money with me so I could stop & buy water if I needed to.

As I headed out on my run I decided that with it being so hot, today was not the day to push my pace. Plus, I hadn’t run very much that week and I hadn’t run 8 miles in a while.

Another way to stay cool while I was out on my run was whenever I stopped for water, I would pour the remaining amount of water in my water bottle over my head. Plus, thank God that some people were watering their lawn that night. There were a couple of times I just stopped & stood in the sprinklers to cool off. I’ll admit, I even crossed the street and went out of my way to run through some sprinklers. Haha!

My run that day was an out and back run. As I hit mile 6 at about 8:45 p.m., I noticed on a bank marquee that it said it was 96 degrees outside!!! That’s just too darn hot for that late at night.

I finally made it through my run and averaged a 10:05 pace. That’s a pretty slow run for me lately, but like I said earlier, I wasn’t going to push my pace that night. It was just too hot to push myself.

I’ve run in some crazy hot weather (Las Vegas Ragnar and summertime in Utah) and it can be tricky to stay cool and hydrated. Everyone, please be safe this summer as you head out on a run or bike.

What are the temps like in your neck of the woods? Do you have any tips/tricks on staying cool during a run?

2 thoughts on “Running In the Heat”

  1. haha so I guess I’m not the only one who is ‘having fun’ running in all this heat! You are doing awesome though, plus it just will feel amazing when the weather gets cooler to pick up the pace and run faster!

Leave a Reply

