Nerves!

Race day nerves are already setting in. If you’ve been living under a rock and didn’t know it, I’m doing my first 1/2 Ironman this Saturday, June 8th.

I expected race day nerves to set in the night before like they usually do, but it’s Thursday night, the race doesn’t start until Noon on Saturday (my swim wave starts at 12:39) and I’m already getting nervous and can feel the anxiety rising.

I just went to the hotel lobby and printed out the race schedule and I think that’s what’s got me going. I can go and check in as an athlete tomorrow from 9:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. and athlete briefing is at 11:00 a.m. I go and check my bike in at the reservoir at 2:00 p.m. tomorrow.

I’ve never been in such a big race that I check my bike in the night before. I’ve never been in such a big race that you have an athlete briefing the day before.

My nerves are just going wild!!! I’m just trying to occupy my mind with other stuff. Trying to play around on the internet until I’m absolutely exhausted so that when I go to bed, my mind doesn’t have time to wander before I fall asleep.

How do you get over race day nerves?

2 thoughts on “Nerves!”

  1. You are going to do awesome! Trust me!!! My first half iron is in 5 weeks and you are WAY more prepared than I, and I know you will do great. A good thing to do is try and relax and do something for yourself (go get your hair done, or a mani/pedi or something) It is something I do before big races, not for the beauty aspect but the relax and me-time aspect!

    I just did my first tri last weekend and 1st 70.3 is in 5 weeks, again, you have this in the bag, way more prepared than I! and if I got over the nerves for my first last weekend you can definitely do it! http://runningtocatchingmybreath.blogspot.com/2013/06/keuka-lake-sprint-tri-my-first.html

Leave a Reply

