CRAZY Busy Life

Life has been crazy! CRAZY, I tell ya! Pure, unadulterated, craziness!!! It’s a good crazy though. Because I’ve been so busy with life, my blog has slipped to the side. I don’t like that part. My blog is my “journal” of sorts. It’s another form of how I communicate with my friends & let them know what’s going on in my life.

So, why has life been so crazy? Well, let me tell ya!

First off, I’m training for a little race called the Boise Half Ironman that is in 3 weeks!!! Eeeekkk!!! When I signed up for this race back in November, I thought that June 2013 seems such a long ways away, and now it is right upon me!

To help with my training, a couple of weeks ago, I road tripped it up to Boise with my dad to preview the course. I managed to blog about the bike course, but have yet to blog about the run course. Maybe that will happen this week (end).

I’m SO glad that I made the trip up there. I can’t imagine going in to the race blind and not knowing what to expect. I mean, you can look at the elevation chart on the website, but that doesn’t tell you much. I think I’m mentally prepared for this race now. At least until race day eve when I have to check in my bike & gear and then I’m sure anxiety will hit.

My training for the race has been going pretty good. My swimming is still pretty consistent. I’m just nervous that I won’t swim as fast in open water as I do in a pool. When I swim in a pool, I can breathe bi-laterally, but I find I have trouble breathing that way in open water. I’m not the best at sighting in open water either. I’ve been practicing that in the pool though. My time seems to stay consistent and improve a little as well.

Biking is a little frustrating. It seems that if I’m on the bike trainer or I’m on a closed course, I can keep a pretty decent speed; however, when I take my bike out on the road and I have to stop every .1 miles for a stupid stoplight, that really hurts my speed. Oh well, I’m trusting my training and hopefully my speed won’t be too bad on race day.

I’m actually pleasantly surprised with my running lately. It seems that my “easy “pace now is a 9:30/mile. I never thought I’d say that. A week ago I did the Susan G Komen Race for the Cure 5k here in town. I started out WAY too fast (First mile in 8 min) and I wasn’t properly nutritioned, so I ended up walking a couple of times, but I finished the 5k in 29:27, which is a 9:30 mile. I wonder how much better I would have done if I were properly fueled & hadn’t started out too dang fast.

The run course for the Boise 70.3 is SUPER flat, so hopefully I’ll be able to keep a decent pace during the race.

I’ve been slacking on doing my weights and core workout. L Lately it has just been pushed to the side for multiple reasons. This week I’m getting back in the habit and doing it twice a week again. When I did my weights on Tuesday for the first time…oooomph!!! Man, I could tell I’ve been slacking. I was SUPER sore on Thursday, but it just gives me the incentive to do it more often, ya know?

Another reason I’ve been super busy is, I moved on May 1. My previous roommate situation just was turning really bad. No need to really go in to details, but I need to find the time to go to the City courthouse so I can take my previous landlord to court. Why? She won’t refund my deposit. She said that I had to give 1 month notice; however she never told me that and I never signed a lease. Plus…I texted her 3 weeks prior to moving out; however, SHE CHANGED HER PHONE # and didn’t tell anybody!!! Who does that?!?!?! Seriously! Normally I wouldn’t make a big deal of it, but $200 is a lot of money.

One other reason I’ve been super busy is…I met a guy on April 5 and we’ve been dating since. He’s awesome! We’ve been spending a lot of time together and we really enjoy each other’s company. He’s super supportive of my triathlon training. Sometimes, when I have to run 5 miles or so, he won’t run the miles, but he’ll take the dog out on the course and I’ll run it and he’ll stay back and walk the dog. Even though he’s not out running with me, it’s nice to know he’s out there, you know? When I was up in Boise previewing the 70.3 course, I had a panic attack because I saw some serious hills on the course and I texted him and he talked me down off of the proverbial ledge.

I wish I had a picture of the two of us, but I don’t. So, instead, here’s a picture of his dog that I get to help take care of too. His name is Tank! He’s such a cute dog and we get along really well.

Tank

2 thoughts on “CRAZY Busy Life”

Leave a Reply

