Remember this 26.2?

Do you remember my post about the Really BIG Free Marathon I did back in November 2012? Well, I thought I’d give you a little bit of an update.

First off, I signed up for the race because, hello, the word “Free” was in the title; however, I did go in to the race knowing that it sounded too good to be true. Still, I paid $50 to register for the race, which isn’t bad for a full marathon.

Let me just recap a little bit of the race for you. It was one of the most disorganized races I’ve EVER done. They didn’t know the exact course of the race until about 2 weeks prior to race day. They didn’t tell the racers that it was going to cost them an additional $10 to get in to Lake Mead because it is a National Park. I can understand paying that $$$, but it would have been nice to know prior to the race or to include it in the $50 we paid. They had race updates, but unless you checked the website on a regular basis, you missed out on these updates. It would have been nice if they would have emailed the racers with the updates.

About the actual race…yeah, they ran out of Gatorade on the course (good thing I don’t drink that while racing). It was a double out & back race. You went out 11 miles one direction and then came back those 11 miles, then went out 2 miles the other direction and then came back to the finish. After mile 6, there were NO porta-potties. For those of you who have done 26.2’s, you know how necessary those porta-potties are. I’ve never held my bodily fluids so long before in my life!!! They didn’t have ANY gels or food on the course for the full marathoners either.

Ok, so back to the point of this post. The whole idea of the race was you pay $50 to secure your spot in the race, and then originally it was when you crossed the finish line, in your swag bag, you got a check for $50. Well, when I checked the website one day, they said that it had changed and you would get your check 4-6 weeks after you finished the race. Well, guess what? The race was Nov 3, 2012 and it is now March 8, 2013 and I still haven’t received a check. Am I surprised? Not really. Am I disappointed? Yes. I was really hoping that this racing company would follow through with their promise.

With all this being said, may I suggest never doing a race with this company. I was going to link to their website so you can make sure of the company etc., but wouldn’t you know…their website isn’t even working and they’ve pulled their website down. Haha!!!

Me at the finish line. Too bad the time on the clock wasn't my finish time, huh?
Me at the finish line. Too bad the time on the clock wasn’t my finish time, huh?
4 thoughts on “Remember this 26.2?”

    1. Ya. In a way I’m not surprised. I’m disappointed though. At least it was only $50 though, which is alot cheaper than other races. I feel bad for those that traveled farther than I did though.

Leave a Reply

