Consistency is Key

The other day I was riding in the car with my friend and we were talking about how I was going to the gym that night and I was thankful that all I had to do was swim and do my weights and core workout beause I was so tired. Her response was “Man, you’re so consistent.” My response to that is “I have to be.”

Looking back, I don’t have to be consistent, I choose to be consistent. But with my weight loss anniversary coming up, consistency is key. Here are a couple of reasons why I am so consistent in going to the gym:

– I choose to be consistent. It is something that I enjoy. It helps me relieve my stresses.

-When you pay $200+ for one race, and that’s just the entry fee, you make sure you’re going to be damn well and ready to participate in that race. That $200 doesn’t even start to consider hotel stays, etc.

-If you have a coach, like I do, you pay them upwards of $100 a month. That keeps you accountable and makes you stay consistent in going to the gym.

-One final thing that keeps me consistent in going to the gym and working out is when you’ve lost as much weight as I have, at least with me, I’m scared to death sometimes of being fat again. I don’t want to go back to those days. Those days were pure hell for me.

I think if you’re trying to be consistent in going to the gym, one thing that helps is if you have a workout buddy. I never had a workout buddy, but money was the big thing for me, ya know? You need to find something to hold you responsible and that will help with the consistency.

How do you stay consistent in running and going to the gym?

2 thoughts on “Consistency is Key”

Leave a Reply

