Week of workouts

This weeks workouts have been interesting, that’s for sure. It started out with not running at all this week. Last week & for a little while, I had a pinching poussin in my calf. I didn’t know what it was, so I decided to take a week off from running. When I take time off from running it really messes with my
head for a few days.

My swimming seemed to slowly be improving this week. Lately I’ve been struggling with my swimming & I wasn’t sure why. I even had my friend video tape me swimming a couple of weeks ago so I could see what I was doing wrong. I emailed the video to my coach & he gave me pointers & I’ve been working on that ever since. Well, come Friday, I was really worried & overwhelmed with my swim workout (I had to swim 2000 steady). I was really pushing myself hard during the swim & about 2/3 of the way through I could feel myself slow down, but I kept on swimming. I finally got done with the 2000 & looked at my watch & I had just swam 2000 yds in 40:08! I’ve NEVER swam that fast. Ever! I think the closest I’ve ever come is 40:30-40:45. My goal for the Boise 1/2 Ironman is less than 40 min. I just need to get rid of those 8 seconds. I was on cloud 9 from this swim.

By Saturday it had been a week since I had run, so I wanted to run the 6 miles I had scheduled for that day. Sadly when I woke up, it was a freaking blizzard outside, so I ended up running at the gym. Surprisingly, it wasn’t bad. I kept it easy on the treadmill & was distracted by the TV. I ended up running the six miles pain free at a 9:54 pace.

Today was the workout I dreaded all week. A 3 hour ride on the bike trainer. Ugh! Like my coach told me yesterday the bike trainer is much harder than outside because you don’t get any breaks because you’re never going downhill, etc. I was dreading this workout so much I slept later than expected this morning. I was dreading it more mentally than physically.

When I finally did get up & get going, it wasn’t too bad mentally. I bought the movie Chariots of Fire yesterday so that would give me inspiration etc. The movie was good. It surprised me that it pulled religion & God in to it a little, but overall a God movie that definitely deserves all the awards it got. My ride today never really got mentally tough. I was quite surprised. It was definitely physically tough though. Every time it got physically tough though, I reminded myself that my coach was doing 5 hrs in the trainer today, so 3 hrs is nothing compared to that. The ride got really tough at the 2 hr mark. I didn’t know if I was going to make it at that point. But somehow I pushed out 59.45 miles in 3:02:02! Yes!

It will be interesting to see what this weeks workouts bring.

How were your workouts last week?

2 thoughts on “Week of workouts”

Leave a Reply

