Shin Issues

Here we go again…it’s that time of year where I get shin splints. I’m sure you’re tired of hearing about them, but this year the shin splints are different. I don’t even know if they’re shin splints or not.

In previous years, when I’ve had shin splints, they are on the side of my left leg and they are towards the bottom. In previous years, it’s hurt when I foam rolled and it’s even hurt when I just touch it or rub it.

This year, it’s different. The pain is more to the front of my shin and it’s not a sharp pain. It feels like when you stretch your leg out before you run and you feel that pull, that’s what it feels like. It doesn’t hurt to foam roll and it doesn’t hurt when I touch it or rub it. It doesn’t hurt when I run either.

Just today, I’ve felt a little pinch almost at the top of my calve on the side, but it’s not a terribly sharp pain, it’s just that, it feels like a pinch.

I’ve talked with my coach about this and he told me that if it gets to the point that I have to redistribute weight while I run, then I need to stop running until I can. So, I’m using that as a guide. Right now, I don’t feel like I have to redistribute any weight while I run, so I keep running.

It’s just weird that it’s so different this year. I’m continuing to wear compression socks and ice down my legs and foam roll. So, I’m just going to play it by ear and if I feel like I need to stop running for a little bit, then I will.

5 thoughts on “Shin Issues”

Leave a Reply

