My BMI & Body Fat

This weekend I get to move!!! Yay!!! I’m so excited to be getting out of my mom and dad’s house.

With that being said, I am moving farther away from my gym, so I needed to get a gym membership at a gym closer to where I’ll be living. Thankfully my work offers a great deal with Gold’s Gym. The way it works is there are 3 plans to choose from…$30/mo, $25/mo or $20/mo…but because it’s through my work, it is all based off of your BMI and your Body Fat %. The reason they can do that is because my work will pay $1 towards your membership for each time you go up to 15 visits. So, the $30 plan becomes only $15 a month, etc.

That’s a really good deal for a gym membership, so I decided to sign up. Since my weight loss journey started 4 years ago, I’ve lost 114 lbs. and my weight still fluctuates every now and then. Because I’m very diligent about working out and trying to eat healthy, I thought for sure I’d be able to choose from the $25 or $20 plan.

When I went to the consultation, the girl was really nice. We talked about how I’ve lost all my weight and how I’ve done triathlons and marathons. We talked about how I struggle to eat enough calories, etc.

Then I had to step on the scale and she took my BMI and my body fat %. The scale said I weighed 188 lbs.!!! Then my BMI was 33 and my Body Fat was 27. In the “health” world, that is considered overweight. I got put on the $30 plan.

I didn’t think the numbers would have the effect it did on me. It’s not the money part that made me very frustrated, but those numbers really had an effect on me.

When I first started out losing weight and up until about 3 – 4 months ago, I weighed myself every Saturday morning and if the number on the scale didn’t go down, I would get very frustrated with myself. I was proud of myself for the past 3 months not weighing myself on a regular basis and if the number wasn’t going down, I wasn’t getting disappointed.

I don’t know how else to put it but just after the consultation, I got really depressed and felt really fat. It was a very demoralizing experience for me. It makes me want to work even harder to lose weight again and keep that number on the scale going down. Friday night I went to the gym and did my swim workout and then went home and did my bike workout that I missed on Thursday.

I knew at my weigh in when the scale said 188 lbs. that wasn’t correct. On 1/19/13 when I weighed myself I weighed in at 181.4, but I’m back to weighing myself every Saturday morning again. This last Saturday when I weighed in, I was 180.2. So, that helped a little that I lost 1.2 lbs.

It really depresses me that I’ve worked SO hard to lose the weight I have and in society’s mind I’m still overweight. It seems that it doesn’t matter that I’m doing triathlons, that I’m running marathons, and I’m getting ready to do my first ½ Ironman, I’m still overweight.

I know I shouldn’t let it bother me, but it does. It bothers me that I feel fat.

6 thoughts on “My BMI & Body Fat”

  1. BMI isn’t worth shit if you are an athlete – not like 3 times a week for 30 mins on the elliptical – I mean long runs, bikes, swimming, lifting, everything else that involved with being a triathlete – because muscle mass messes with the ratio.

  2. I love your honesty. I use to live and die by the scale and a few years ago I stopped. I’d weigh myself everyday, twice a day, sometimes more. I’d wake up and if the scale wasn’t the same or less than the night before I spent my day depressed. I just had to stop doing it. If I need to get weighed I get on backwards and tell them not to tell me. Now I let my clothes determine if weight has been lost, or the kind words of friends that I haven’t seen in awhile. This is a very tough journey. Do your best to keep your head up, it will get better.

Leave a Reply

