Gandolph Came & Went

I guess they’re starting to name winter storms around here. The latest one came on Thursday and didn’t stop until Saturday afternoon. His name is Gandolph. It was AWFUL!!!

Thursday evening it started right before I left work to come home. At first the roads weren’t too bad, and then I got on the freeway and snow plows hadn’t been out yet and so it was SUPER scary. Everyone was sliding everywhere. I ended up getting off the freeway and taking city streets for a while. I eventually was able to get back on the freeway, but it took me 2 1/2 hours to get home. 2 1/2 hours people!!! It normally takes me 40 minutes. Here are a couple of pictures I took with my phone while I was at a standstill on the freeway.

My view for 2 1/2 hours.
My view for 2 1/2 hours.
Where it says "17 min to 500 South" it usually says 5 min and it took me 30 minutes that night.
Where it says “17 min to 500 South” it usually says 5 min and it took me 30 minutes that night.

The bad part about the drive Thursday evening that took me 2 1/2 hrs was I had to go to the bathroom soooooo bad!!! I even used the restroom before I left work, but I must have a small bladder or something (TMI?). I was ready to pop a squat on the side of the freeway. Lol.

Friday morning when I got up to go to work, I had to get up super early just so I could get to work on time. I had to take a round about way to get to work to avoid part of the freeway that doesn’t get plowed. Even though the freeways weren’t plowed, it took me 1 hr and 15 minutes to get to work. Hey, at least it was an improvement from getting home the night before.

Roads started to get bad again Friday evening and it was white knuckle driving the whole way home again. But, I guess people got their senses about them and decided to drive safe. I set a new PR for getting home from work in a snow storm and it only took me an hour and 10 minutes to get home.

Finally it stopped snowing yesterday. We have about 2 feet of snow in our front yard. I don’t remember the last time we had this much snow at once. Roads are finally cleared up for the most part.

I do have to say, one thing I like about snow is that it makes everything look pretty and clean. But, it’s so damn cold!!! This snow makes me want to go sledding/tubing though. Too bad that wouldn’t be a good idea while I’ve got a cold, huh?

What’s your favorite winter activity?

2 thoughts on “Gandolph Came & Went”

Leave a Reply

