Turkey Trot 10k

Every year, my gym hosts a Turkey 10k, 5k and 1k. Ever since last year, Thanksgiving morning, I’ve done the 10k. I’ve done it as my last race of the year and I’ve done it so I don’t feel guilty eating Thanksgiving dinner later that night. 🙂

I was ready for the 10k this year. I knew what to expect as far as the course was concerned and I knew what to expect of my body nutritionally and I knew what to expect as far as my running pace (3 weeks post marathon).

Last year there was snow on the ground for Thanksgiving and it was icy conditions; therefore my pace was slower. This year, I wore shorts and a t-shirt for the run. I think I’m safe to say the weather was in the 50s for the run.

Right before I headed out on the run, my dad said “I’ll see you in an hour…no, less than an hour. I’ll see you in less than an hour.” I told my dad not to count on it. I didn’t know if I’d be able to hold that fast of a pace seeing that I’d finished a marathon 3 weeks prior. When I finished the Ogden Marathon in May, it took me a good 6 – 8 weeks to get back to a decent pace on my running.

The run start was very congested. They started the 5k and the 10k at the same time. We were all supposed to line up and group together as far as pace is concerned, but with that many people (at least 500) and nobody making sure that everybody was in their pace area, that obviously didn’t happen. I’m pretty sure I walked across the starting line.

After we crossed the starting line, I was able to pick up my pace to a jog and start attempting to weave around people who were walking. Once I finally got out of the parking lot and on the street, I was able to pick up my pace to what I thought was about a 10:00/mile.

As far as pace is concerned, I just went with what felt good. If I felt I needed to slow down, I did. If I felt like I could pick up the pace a little, I did that.

About 1 mile in to the race we had to cross some train tracks. Thankfully, I wasn’t stopped by the train. I missed the train by about 1 minute. Wahoo!

I didn’t realize they had mile markers on the course until we came upon the 2 mile marker. I decided to take a quick sneak peek at my watch and it said we’d gone 2.5 miles, so I knew their mile markers were off. Then shortly after, I saw the 3 mile marker. That’s when I knew the mile markers were off.

At the 3 mile marker I decided I needed to take a gel to make it to the finish and after I got done with the gel, I decided to look at my watch again to see how accurate their mile markers were. I was SHOCKED!!! I looked at my watch and it said I’d run 3.2 miles in 30 minutes!!! I was kicking ass!

I didn’t look at my watch the rest of the time. I was feeling pretty proud of myself though because the last 1 – 1 1/2 miles was a gradual uphill. I’m not a fan of uphills, but I was able to run the entire uphill.

They had water stops for us at miles 3 and 5, but I was able to breeze past those because I was carrying my own water.

The closer we got to the finish, the more 5kers we came upon. The only downside to this was alot of the 5kers were walking the entire course and they were walking 2 abreast. This was along a busy street, so you couldn’t really run out in the street. Those that were walking 2 abreast, had no consideration for the other runners and we had to go off the sidewalk and on to the grass or out in the street to pass people. I’m not a fan of that only because 1. it’s not safe to run out in the street, and 2., I’m not good at running on grass. I’m always afraid I’m going to lose my footing and twist my ankle or something.

The entire run I felt strangely strong. Especially seeing that the night before I felt like I was coming down with a cold. I ran through the finish and then looked down at my watch and I just ran 6.23 miles in 0:59:45!!! This was a HUGE deal. I saw my dad and the first thing I said was “You got your less than 1 hour!” The other reason this was a huge deal is because in the 3 1/2 years I’ve been running, this is the first time I’d ever run a 10k under 1 hour!

I was feeling great!!! I got my finishers medal, we hung around for a few minutes to see the results (still haven’t got them) and then we headed home. Well, kind of.

After adding up all of my miles run for the year, after running this 10k, I had run 998 miles. Only 2 more miles and I would’ve ran 1,000 miles this year! Plus, my coach said for my Thursday schedule to either run the Turkey 10k or to run 8 miles. Well, to get to 1,000 miles, seeing that it was only another 2 miles, I decided to run 2 more miles on Thanksgiving and then I’d be home.

Those last 2 miles were done at a 9:45/min pace. It was a little slower, but that’s ok. So, as of Thanksgiving Day, I’ve ran 1,000 miles this year. It was an awesome day of meeting some goals.

Did you do a Turkey run? How did it go?

2 thoughts on “Turkey Trot 10k”

Leave a Reply

