40% Motivational

The other day my friend called me and wanted to know what I was doing. I told her I had to go run 5 miles and then I was going to head to the gym and do my weights & core workout. She said she wanted to come. I was excited because someone WANTED to go to the gym with me. That doesn’t happen very often.

After my run, I picked her up and we headed to the gym. Now, currently, she’s not physically fit. On our way to the gym, I told her that I can’t really give her pointers on what to do with weights because that would be considered coaching and if I’m caught coaching someone at my gym and I’m not a coach for the gym, then I can lose my membership. So, I told her just to watch me and do what I do.

As soon as we got to the gym, she started cracking all kinds of jokes. In a way I can understand that. I kind of expected it. The jokes weren’t mean or anything. It’s just, that’s her way of dealing with uncomfortable situations. I understand. I’m the same way.

But, the whole point of this post is this. On our way home, she told me that I’m 40% motivational and 60% demovtivational (is that even a word? Lol.). Why am I demotivational? Because “I’m so good” that people look at me and think they’ll never be that good.

In a way, I want to take that as a compliment, but at the same time, it kind of irritates me. If anybody “gets” how hard it is to workout and to find motivation, it’s me. 3 ½ years ago, I was 275 lbs. I was 114 lbs. heavier than I am now. I told my friend that if losing weight is THAT important to her, you have to put all your inhibitions behind you and just go do it!

She said she felt really self-conscious at the gym because she was the only fat person there. All I have to say is “oh puh-leeze!” First off, I look at my friend and I don’t see fat. I never have. Even when I was a bigger girl, I always thought she wasn’t a big girl.

But, like I said, if weight loss is that important to you, you have to not care what others think. I know it’s easier said than done, but that’s what you have to do. I remember the first couple of weeks when I first started working out, I think the first time I got in a bathing suit and walked out to the pool, I was a little embarrassed, but that quickly left. Honestly, when I’m at the gym and if I see an obese person, the first thing I think is that they’re awesome for trying to be active.

Even when I went to the gym and got on a treadmill the first time, I don’t remember being self-conscious about my weight or anything. I can guarantee you that people at the gym don’t look at you and think of how fat you are, etc.

At one point the other night, I got my friend to run a ½ lap of the track with me. I ran right beside her and told her to start out slow and I kept saying positive things to her. We didn’t run very long, but when we got to the end, she told me that running that little part wasn’t too bad and she probably could’ve kept going. She said that in order for her to lose weight, she needs someone right next to her that will give her encouragement like I did while we were running on the track.

I told my friend that if she wants to lose weight bad enough, she’ll find the time and the money. I also told her that she and I are going to sign up for a 5k next year together and I told her that I would run it with her and stay by her side the entire time.

I told her that she can be trained for a 5k in 8-10 weeks. She didn’t believe me. I told her that there’s a whole crap load of “Couch to 5K” plans out there on the internet that she can do for free. I’m going to print one out for her. Here is one of the workout plans I found.

The sad thing is my friend doesn’t usually follow through with stuff. She told me that night that she wanted to go to the gym with me the next day. I texted her on Tuesday telling her what my workout is and to see if she wanted to go to the gym again and I didn’t hear from her. I did wake up in the middle of the night and saw that I received a text from her saying that she ached so bad from the weights she did the night before that she could barely move. Sadly, I think that will deter her from doing more workouts. I told her though that to keep from getting too sore, she needs to keep moving. Go for a short walk, etc.

I think if she does get serious about training for a 5k though that I’m going to have to put some stipulations on it. One stipulation is she has to not smoke. What’s the point of training for a 5k if you’re going to smoke? You know what I mean?

I just find it very sad that so many people let their inhibitions stop them from doing great things. Like I said earlier, if I can go from being one of the laziest people in the world who drank a TON of soda pop, to being a triathlete and getting ready to compete in my first ½ Ironman, SO CAN YOU!!! If you want something bad enough, you’ll make it happen.

Please don’t let me be demotivational. I know how hard it is to workout. I know the struggles of working out. Trust me, I do. I still struggle sometimes with working out. It might look like a piece of cake, but it’s not.

If you think I’m demotivational, let me know. Even if I am demotivational, I’ll be your biggest cheerleader so that you can accomplish what you want to.

Have you ever had someone tell you you’re demotivational? How would you deal with it?

8 thoughts on “40% Motivational”

  1. Nope…. I find you very encouraging. The part about you that I find the most encouraging is not really what you “say” or even what you “do” but the fact that you “keep on” doing it and “keep on” saying it. Even when a workout goes bad, I’m never worried you’re gonna quit. You come right back on DM the next night with some other workout, which you may or you may not have liked but still, you did it.

      1. I can understand your friends side too though. Not because you did anything wrong but Just because when a person has a really looooong way to go, seeing someone else making giant leaps of progress is hard to choke down sometimes.

  2. I wouldn’t let it get to you too much.. People say the oddest things when they’re uncomfortable. I had a friend who I haven’t seen in years see me 30 lbs lighter, She immediately began to talk about her weight problem, I didn’t even ask or say anything of course!

  3. Don’t let it get you down – you have inspired MANY – I think that it can be intimidating at times to just see the ‘end result’ and then people compare themselves to that and immediately just get overwhelmed. Bottom line, you are very motivational to many people and you hang on to THOSE type of comments 🙂

Leave a Reply

