Back to Running

On Saturday I decided to run 3 miles on the treadmill. I was just aching to get out & run since my marathon. I’ve never run a more rough 3 miles in my life. Well, I probably have, but it’s more fun to exaggerate, right? I was really concerned about my performance with these 3 miles because a couple of days earlier, I signed up for the Turkey 10k on Thanksgiving morning. While running these 3 miles I had NO clue how I was going to be able to run a 10k in less than a week.

Well, yesterday, I got my workouts from my coach and on the schedule was 5 miles for last night. Holy crap!!! Normally 5 miles wouldn’t be much, but at the moment it was for me. I hadn’t run more than 3 miles since my marathon on 11/3 and the 3 miles that I did run were tough.

I got home from work and the self-doubt started to kick in. It was darker than a stack of black cats outside and that made me nervous too. Yes, I have a headlamp, but it still just sometimes makes me really nervous to run in the dark.

I really thought about just sucking it up and going to the gym and running 5 miles on the treadmill. The treadmill is not kind to me though. I’ve found if I run too much on the treadmill that I tend to get shin splints. That is no fun at all.

I finally sucked it up, put on my headlamp, my tail light and my reflective vest and headed out for 5 miles. I know from previous experience with marathons that it takes me about 6 – 8 weeks to bounce back to a normal to fast pace for me.

Heading out on my run I felt really good. I wasn’t pushing myself; I was just out to run. Once I got out & started running, the self-doubt of the 5 miles drifted away. The first mile went really well, and then my asthma kicked in. I couldn’t breathe. I stopped at a park and had my dad bring me my inhaler. I’m sure part of the breathing thing is I’m not used to running in the colder weather, plus there’s a lot of crap in the air right now.

After I got my inhaler, the run went pretty well. I knew I was running pretty slow. I thought I was average between a 10:15 and a 10:30 pace. I was surprised when I got to my first hill and I was able to run the entire hill. Normally when I get to the top of the hill, I have to stop and take a breather, but this time I was good to just keep running.

I am proud to say that I didn’t have to stop for any potty or water breaks. I didn’t even have to take a gel while out on my run and usually anything more than 4 miles I do.

I finally made it home and looked at my watch. I had run 5.81 miles in 0:58:54. Not too bad if I say so myself. Then I looked at my pace and it said I ran it holding a 10:08 pace. I was shocked!!!! Coming off a marathon, that is a fast pace for me.

This run really boosted my confidence for the 10k this Thursday. I now know that I’ll be able to run that 10k with no problems. It won’t be the easiest 10k I’ve done, but I know I’ll be able to finish it, and that’s all that matters.

It feels SO nice to be back running after the marathon and back to a regular schedule of workouts.

Are you doing any Turkey 5k or 10k or whatnot Thanksgiving Day?

2 thoughts on “Back to Running”

  1. Great that you are back to it! i’ve been bad with my running training lately and went to a training session on Monday – that felt hard for me! I definitely need to get back into a good schedule (Work has gone nuts as I work STUPID hours so I’ve been finding it hard to juggle everything)! I did try my first serious mountain climb on my bike today, phew, hard work! I started out thinking, oh, not too bad, then fell off my bike and thought, hmm, maybe I have aimed too high! But I made it, and will continue to work on it until I get better 🙂 You’ll do great on your Turkey 10K, definitely enjoy it!

Leave a Reply

