Rise & Shine

Let’s face it. My bed is REALLY comfortable. I’m SO not a morning person. It’s a struggle for me to get up at 6:30 a.m. every morning to get to work on time.

When I first started working out 3 1/2 years ago, I had no problem with getting up and going swimming in the morning and then coming home and riding and running/walking. I did it 7 days a week.

I don’t know what has changed between then and now, but for the life of me, I can’t get up and go swimming in the morning. To get up and get a good swim workout in before I head to work, I have to be up by 4:40 a.m. and to the pool and sitting on the pool deck by 4:50-4:55 a.m. That’s WAY to early for this bird.

Because I know after the first of the year, my training is going to get amped up because of the Boise 70.3. I’m not going to have time to swim AND run or swim AND bike when I get home in the evenings. So, last week I went to Facebook to get people’s ideas on how to get my ass out of bed that early. I was given some really great ideas.

  • Set 2 alarms, with 1 being across the room.
  • Reward yourself each week
  • Set a coffee timer

These are all AWESOME ideas. I drink coffee, but my parents don’t. I don’t know if they’d be a fan of me putting a coffee pot in my room. But, I will definitely try the 2 alarms (one across the room, one on my phone). I will also set up a reward system. This week, if I get all of my swims in first thing in the morning, I will treat myself to a pedicure this weekend.

What motivates you to get your workout done early in the morning?

4 thoughts on “Rise & Shine”

  1. I love working out in the morning! I am one of those crazy morning people but it hasn’t always been that way. I think getting in a groove of getting up early helps and also just knowing that after you get it out of the way you have the rest of the day to get things done without having to worry about a looming workout later helps a lot too!!

  2. When I do a morning workout I sleep in my workout clothes, it’s one less step to do in the morning. I also pack my lunch the night before.. Just little things that makes the morning easier.

Leave a Reply

