Torn Away

I was SO excited! This week I finally got back to running and biking and swimming. Then, last night, it all got ripped away from me. 😦 Kind of. Ok, maybe I’m over exaggerating a little. But, it’s for my own good.

Well, remember back when I crashed on my bike back in August? Well, when I fell on my bike, I hit the pavement with my knee & elbows and went skidding across the pavement. When I hit the pavement, I bruised the bone under my knee pretty nice.

At one of my races, there was an orthopedist there giving free consultations. So, I talked with him and he said it was bruised and it takes a while to heal.

Well, because it was during race season and because I had a marathon on 11/3, I haven’t been able to take time off. Basically the doctor that I saw said I’d have to stop running for a significant amount of time. Well…that’s not gonna happen. 🙂

Well, I knew I needed to run through the pain, if it hurt, in order for me to do this marathon. Well, last night I saw my coach at the gym and he asked how I was doing. I told him I was doing ok, but my knee was still hurting a little from the marathon.

I had ran 3 miles the day before and then I’d just got done with a 23.2 mile bike ride at home before I saw my coach. When I saw him and told him about my knee, he said to not run or bike the rest of the week! CRAP!!! I’d already gone all of last week not running or hardly biking so I could recover from the marathon. I SO was ready to start running and biking again.

I know it’s for my best interest to not run or bike the rest of this week to give my knee a little bit of time to heal, but it’s just tough. I want to strap on my running shoes so bad.

My coach said I could swim, just not bike or run. So, I’ll go swimming in the morning and Friday morning and so I’m doing something tomorrow night, I’m going to try out an aqua zumba class. I’m kind of excited.

How do you deal with the anxieties of not running? Have you ever done aqua zumba?

2 thoughts on “Torn Away”

  1. I had a hip injury a few years ago where I had to stop running for six months. I was a new runner back then and was worried I would lose all of my running fitness. But since I had been running for less than a year, there wasn’t much running fitness to lose!

    I kept myself busy with swimming, the stationary bike, and the PT exercises I was given. That time off made me appreciate how lucky I am to be able to run – or do whatever other physical activity I feel like doing on any given day.

    You’ll get through it, and you’ll enjoy it so much more when you can get back to it!

    1. Thankfully it’s only the rest of this week. You’re right,, it could be much worse. I had a hip injury too (last year) and I couldn’t run for a couple of months. Those were the longest couple of months EVER!!! At least I can keep myself busy with swimming.

Leave a Reply

