Proud Member

Whenever I run a marathon, 1/2 marathon, 10k, 5k, whatever, even on training runs, I LOVE wearing my Idiots Running Club shirt. I wore the shirt on a training run this last week and then I had to go to the store & I just wore the shirt to the store. It was fun to see the looks I got from others.

On the front of the shirt, it has the IRC symbol on it and then on the back, in big bold letters it says “IDIOTS RUNNING CLUB”. I can’t wait to wear this shirt in my race this weekend.

To be a member of the IRC, you have to take this pledge:

Yes, I took this pledge.

Someone who I would like to call my friend, David, is the founder of the IRC. David is INCREDIBLE!!! I honestly don’t know how to describe David that would give him justice.

David is someone that I look up to very much. He just finished running a 100 miler in Arkansas and came in 4th and he ended up running an extra mile or two! Then, the next week, he did a cancer run and raise $600+ and ran a 50k! This man is an ANIMAL!!! David can run 30+ miles on a treadmill at one time. I can run 6 at the most and I’m done.

I love my friend Kristie. This weekend I got to meet her face to face for the first time. She always has an encouraging word for you and is always proud of everyone’s accomplishments.

I have my dear friend Lori as well. Lori is a treat! I love her. I haven’t had a chance to meet her yet, but one day it will happen. I swear. I don’t know how to explain Lori. I just seem to connect with her.

Last, but not least, another member is my friend Jeannie. She just ROCKS!!! I was able to meet her earlier this year when I did the Onion Man Triathlon. She is SO awesome. She’s done two 1/2 Ironman’s and she always has an encouraging word.

The best thing about the IRC is everybody is encouraging to everbody. They don’t care how fast or how slow you run. They don’t care if you run 100+ miles at one time or if you can barely run 1 mile. They are always encouraging. This is one of the best clubs in the world!!!

When I wear my IRC shirt during races, I always get comments, but I think the people that comment on my shirt don’t think it’s a real club, but oh they are wrong. It’s as real as they get. We chat it up on Facebook ALL THE TIME!!!

I seriously LOVE all the people in this club and I am proud to be a member.

4 thoughts on “Proud Member”

Leave a Reply

