Books! Books! Books!

When Gage comes over to our house, one of his favorite things to do is sit down and read books. With my mom being a retired librarian from an elementary school, we have LOTS of books at our house.

My nephews and nieces ALL love to read as well. I love that they love to read. I think a book does magical things.

So, I thought I’d post about some of my favorite books when I was a kid.

One of the first books I remember is The Poky Little Puppy. I LOVED this book. The Poky Little Puppy always ran over the hill and went “pell mell down the hill” instead of playing with his brothers & sisters.

Pretty sure we read this book every night.

Another favorite I remember when I was really young was The Little Engine That Could. I didn’t like this one as much as The Poky Little Puppy, but it was still good. My favorite part was when he would try and climb the hill and say “I think I can, I think I can, I think I can…” and then he’d head down the hill with a big sigh of relief.

As I got older, one year, for my birthday, my aunt gave me the book The Berenstain Bears & the Spooky Old Tree. This book came with a tape that you could read along with. Every time the guy on the tape made this “creepy” type noise, you knew that was when to turn the page. I know for a fact we read this book SO many times, the binding on the book broke and so did the tape. I wish I still had a copy of the book and the tape. I have searched EVERYWHERE for a copy of the book WITH the tape, but I can’t find it. 😦 I can find the book, but I can’t find the tape.

One with a light…one with a rope…one with a stick.

Last but not least, some of my favorite books were Dr. Seuss books. When I was in elementary school, I had a librarian, Mrs. Moss. Her favorite author of all time was Dr. Seuss. She was such an animated lady. So animated, she would scare us at times. When she got mad, she got mad. BUT…when it was story time in elementary school, she would always read a Dr. Seuss book and I LOVED it. My all time favorite book was…Green Eggs & Ham. Who doesn’t love that book? Ya know?

I do not like green eggs and ham. I do not like them Sam I am!

Even now, I still love books. I just got done reading the book The Help. I’m now reading Born to Run. Sometimes it takes me a little longer than others to read a book just because I’m so busy with life, but I still love to read.

What were your favorite books as a child? Are you currently reading a book?

2 thoughts on “Books! Books! Books!”

Leave a Reply

