Let the Taper Begin

Oh Lordy, I am now in official taper mode. For the record, I’m not a huge fan of tapering. I know it’s good for your body, but it messes with my mind. My workouts are SO much smaller than they normally are that my mind says “What’s the point of even doing it?”. But, I still do it.

Some people call them “taper tantrums”.

This Saturday is my second to last race of the season. This Saturday will be my second full marathon that I’ve run. I will be running the REALLY BIG FREE Marathon down in Las Vegas. I can’t remember how I heard about this race, but I signed up for it a year ago and then just remembered I had this race back in June of this year.

I’m excited for this race because it’s going to be a mini-vacation for me. My mom & dad and I are going down to Vegas on Thursday to stay with some friends & then I’ll race Saturday and drive down on Sunday. I’m super excited because I’m going to get to meet the one, the only Kristie Cranford while I’m down there. I met Kristie through the Idiots Running Club on Twitter. She is AMAZING!!!

I’m also super nervous about this race. Why? Because I just looked at the course info today (it has been a little up in the air until now) and there are some SERIOUS hills on this course. You can see the course map here. I’ve been trying to run alot of hills lately to get better at them. I hope that will be sufficient for this race.

On the other hand, I’m looking forward to this race, because this time around, running a marathon, I know what to expect from my body. When I ran the Ogden Marathon earlier this year, it was my first time running 26.2 miles, I didn’t really know what to expect from my body. This time around, I do. So, that will be good.

So, with all that being said, hopefully I won’t go taper crazy this week and I’ll have a good race this weekend.

Leave a Reply

