Travel Dreams

One day I have these grand dreams of traveling. A lot. I want to see far away lands and learn about different cultures and see all these different places of the world. One slight problem. That costs A LOT of money. Money I don’t have right now.

Well earlier this week I was reading in a magazine and they mentioned this website called Digsville. Think of the movie The Holiday starring Cameron Diaz, Kate Winslet, Jude Law and Jack Black. Digsville is a website where you can house-swap with people for your vacation and save a little cash so you don’t have to pay for a hotel, etc.

How cool would that be? Instead of paying for a hotel when you travel to London or German, you live in someone’s house while they live in yours. Now, they do tell you on this website that you do need to be a little leary and do this with a little caution. It’s best to build a friendship with your house swapper first and build trust with them. They do say if you feel so inclined, you can remove some of your valuables from your home before you leave on vacation (think safety deposit box).

I’m thinking this is a lot cheaper than getting a hotel for a week or whatnot when you go on vacation. I wish I had my own place so that I could do this when I go on vacation. Sadly, I live with my parents. Happily, we usually don’t go on vacation together. But, that means there’s usually always someone at the house, so I can’t really participate right now.

Maybe one day I’ll be able to participate with this house swap and be able to travel fun places.

Have you ever done a house swap? Would you be willing to do a house swap?

Leave a Reply

