How to Put Yourself Out There

Ever since I met Eric at the Camp Yuba Triathlon, it’s really made me think about my story and putting myself out there for more people to hear, etc.

I don’t want to come across as cocky or anything like this, but I want to put myself and my story of weight loss, etc., out there and I want more people to hear it. I want more people to know that if I can go out and lose 114 lbs and do triathlons and run marathons, then they can too.

My only problem with this is, I don’t know how to put myself out there. Yes, I have a blog. Yes, I’m on Twitter. But, that’s about it. I want a fancy website. Now I realize, if I want all this stuff, I do need to blog a little more often than what I do. I’m tryin’ folks, I really am. 🙂

So…do you have any suggestions as to how to get my story out there more?

5 thoughts on “How to Put Yourself Out There”

  1. I know how difficult this is! I wanted to do the same for my weight loss story as well, partly to help me to realise and accept that I have done something significant and that I am at a point in my life where I don’t need to feel pressure to lose more weight, that I am good enough as I am and that loving myself is the toughest challenge, harder than losing the weight itself! I don’t have twitter or anything like that, just my little blog and what I do through facebook. I also have been fundraising for the year and I wanted to get that information out there a bit more as well, but it seems almost impossible. I email around my work, I hold cupcake sales, I’ve even approached the PR department of my university and also of the people I am fundraising for – it has resulted in very little I must say. This has kind of put a dampener on my drive to raise money for them, but still I persist.

    I think that’s what you need to do – persist. You need to get in people’s faces, you need to push your way into conversations, you need to be all over the place all the time. Hit up your local paper and urge them, bug them, until they run a piece on you, even just a feel good little blurb somewhere in their print or online. I think you really need to just constantly be there until they give in and run something for you to get you off their backs – in which case it’s best to have your website or blog up to the standard you want so people will have resources to look for once they have read your story.

    Your story is incredibly inspiring. I don’t know if I will ever run a marathon, or do a triathlon but I look to your story and I know that if I want to, I can – and that’s a message I think a lot of people would benefit from hearing!

    I hope you can do it! I wish I knew more ways to help!

    1. Thanks. I did have 1 article written about me in the local paper. I’ll have to bug them to do a follow up article soon. Well, and just pester the radio stations, news stations, etc., to do articles, etc.

  2. Blog more? I got a crazy ton of them in my email today! lol I think just keep doing what you are doing. Have you thought about scheduling your blog posts to post on different days so that you don’t have serveral that post is one day? That might help with attracting more traffic to your blog so that you have new material every day.

    1. You know, after I posted all of my blogs yesterday, I thought, dang it, I should have scheduled them to post different days. I would’ve had like a week of blog posts. Lol. I’m going to start doing that though.

Leave a Reply

