One Step Closer

I wrote this post on Friday, and I’m just barely getting around to publishing it. I’ve got a whole gamut of emotions going through me right now. I just signed up for the 2013 Boise Half Ironman.

Signing up for this race might not be a big deal for some people, but for me, it’s HUGE. It means I’m one step closer to my goal of being an Ironman.

If you would have asked me 4 years ago if I would do an Half Ironman in 2013, I would have told you that you are absolutely NUTS!! Just a little background, if you were not aware. I’ve had depression and anxiety since I was about 10 years old. For a long time, I used eating as a coping mechanism.

Up until 4 years ago, I never was the athletic type. I’ve never been the most coordinated person you’ll ever meet either. When I was a little girl, my parents put me in tap & ballet class to help with my social skills and coordination. I did that for 5 years and then I was done.

I remember after I graduated from high school, I remember watching Oprah one day and I saw Team Hoyt on the show. For those that don’t know, Rick was born with cerebral palsy. The doctors told his parents to institutionalize him. The Hoyts wouldn’t do that. Their son always wanted to live a very active life. Long story short, Dick (the father) and Rick Hoyt compete in triathlons and marathons together. I watched where Dick and Rick competed in the Ironman National Championships in Hawaii together. Dick would put Rick in a raft and tie the rope around his waist and swim 2.4 miles with his son. Then he had a “chariot” rigged up so that he could ride his bike with his son Rick on the bike as well. Then he would continue on and run 26.2 miles pushing Rick in a wheelchair. When I saw that, I told myself that if Dick can do an Ironman carrying his son the entire way, then by hell, I’m going to do an Ironman.

http://www.teamhoyt.com

That was the end of that. At the time, I didn’t know that you could do Sprint triathlons or Olympic distance triathlons. Even a 5k (3.1 miles) race seemed daunting to me. I had no clue how to go about training for an Ironman.

In January 2009, I weighed in at my heaviest of 275 lbs. Towards the end of January I got a Facebook invitation from one of my friends saying that her husband was organizing a Sprint triathlon for August. It stated in the description of the event that I would have to swim 350 yards, bike 12 miles and run/walk 3.1 miles. I thought about it for about a month. I talked with my parents to get their opinion and see if they thought if I had enough time to train for it.

March 1, 2009, I registered for my first triathlon. Every day until August 9, 2009, I swam 14 laps (350 yards), biked 12 miles and walked 3.1 miles. My only goal for the race was to finish it and not come in last. I didn’t care if I came in second to last, I just didn’t want to be last.

The day of the race I completed the race and I finished in about 1 hour and 45 minutes. I remember coming home that day and signing up for 2 more races.

Since then, I’ve competed in numerous Sprint triathlons and half marathons. This year I ran my first full marathon. I’ve done 4 Olympic distance triathlons. The next step for me is a half Ironman.

I’ve got 281 days until race day. I’ve got the best coach in the state. Hopefully the weather will be good the day of the race so that they don’t have to cut the race short like they did this year. I’m already super nervous.

I’m sure B.J. (coach) is going to amp up my training something fierce. All I have to say is Bring. It. On!!!

Me, my coach, & his wife.

2 thoughts on “One Step Closer”

Leave a Reply

