I know I’m opening a BIG can of worms here, but I really liked the research this blogger did on this topic. Have no fear, my blog is not going to become all political, etc., I’m not big in to politics, but when I heard all the “hubbub” about this Republican’s comment, I decided to research a little bit of it. All I have to say is OMG…why does the government need to be all up in women’s gynecological business? Seriously!

Forming The Thread

Whew, I feel so much better knowing this.  Todd Akin, one of Missouri’s Republican representatives in Congress knows all about how rape affects a woman, and he told an interviewer on Sunday:

“First of all, from what I understand from doctors, (pregnancy from rape) is really rare.  If it’s a legitimate rape, the female body has ways to try to shut that whole thing down.  But let’s assume that maybe that didn’t work or something.  I think there should be some punishment, but the punishment ought to be on the rapist and not attacking the child.”

Actually, it is fairly common to become pregnant from a rape.  In a three-year study by the Medical University of South Carolina, it was found that:

“The national rape-related pregnancy rate is 5.0% per rape among victims of reproductive age (aged 12 to 45); among adult women an estimated 32,101 pregnancies result…

View original post 590 more words

4 thoughts on “”

  1. All I can say is WTF! I have been a rape victim, twice now, once before I was on the oral contraceptive (to help with a hormone imbalance, not actually for contraception) and once after – I didn’t fall pregnant either time but it should be my choice about what happens in ANY circumstance. It infuriates me that men can still comment and decide on what happens to my body! Argh, must control emotions 😛

Leave a Reply

