Talents

This might not be such a hidden talent, but I don’t know why, I just decided to blog about it tonight.

Ever since I was probably 9 or 10 years old I’ve played the piano. I maybe took 1/2 dozen piano lessons, but that’s it. My mom tried to teach me how to play the piano and that didn’t work. I even went to a lady up the street, but I never really practiced.

Alot of people think I’m REALLY good at the piano. I think I’m ok. I have a hard time reading music. I play more by ear than anything. Knowing how to count the notes and how many counts each note gets, etc., yeah, I just don’t get that.

I’ve played piano at a couple of wedding receptions, but that’s it. I think it’d be fun to make that in to a business, but I’ve never really tried. Plus, I just don’t know if I’m good enough.

I’ve always found piano music relaxing. I’ve found it very fascinating. I could sit and watch someone play the piano for hours. I think that’s one of the reasons I like Keys on Main so much. You want to talk about super-duper talent? You should see the guys at Keys on Main. Holy hell, they amaze me!!! I can’t tell you how many songs they have memorized in their head (I have zero). Just as an example, here is a video I took at Keys on Main a while ago.

Yes, that is all improv! I’d kick a dragon’s ass to be able to play the piano like that.

I used to play the guitar. In high school I had to have an art credit and I was given my grandpa’s Gibson guitar. I passed the course getting a C+ I think, but do you think I can remember any ounce of that course to be able to play the guitar again? Nope. I do regret that. I would love to be able to pick up the guitar and play again.

What talents do you have?

4 thoughts on “Talents”

  1. I’ve been thinking a lot about this post. I’ve decided that I am an amazing cook, and very artsy. My real talent is awkwardness, though. I can turn any conversation or situation instantly into a pure chunk of awkward… WITHOUT EVEN TRYING!! Now that is a real talent 😉

    1. I can do that with a conversation too. Lol. It doesn’t take much. Oooooh, cooking though, do you have a favorite thing to cook? I’m envious of artsy people. I can’t draw to save my life.

      1. I just like feeding people. It’s probably the Italian in me. I love Thai and Indian food, but I get the most compliments on my stuffed shells and lasagna and meatballs… I think that people just love Italian food. It doesn’t have anything to do with my cooking lol Also, I make BANGING Mexican food. 🙂

Leave a Reply

