Post Race Blues

Lately I’ve just been really depressed, lonely and anxious. Not really sure why. Then someone said maybe it is “post race blues”.

It kind of makes sense if you think about it. Like, this last weekend, I ran 35.1 miles. I had all these endorphins going through my body and endorphins make you happy. All of a sudden, I have a drop in endorphins. My body is probably going “what the hell?”.

This is totally knew to me. I’ve never experience post race blues before. I don’t like it. I’m not quite sure how to combat it either. Normally I know it would help to workout, but I haven’t been working out this week (at least yet) because I’ve been rest AND my knee has been killing me. I really hope that my knee is aching just from overuse this past weekend.

So, I know working out would be helping but, since I’m kind of limited on that, what suggestions do you have on how to combat post race blues?

6 thoughts on “Post Race Blues”

  1. First of all, let me say that I’M SO PROUD OF YOU!!! You’re a hero to me RIGHT NOW πŸ™‚

    Okay, so my therapist Alison says that when you’re feeling down for whatever reason, do something you’re good at. Like, when I feel depressed or generally shitty, I work on my current crochet project, cook a meal, or write my next five blog entries at one time πŸ˜‰ Doing that makes you feel competent and in control and good about yourself.

    ALSO you can do things to ‘self soothe’. Indulge one (or more!) of your five senses- wear your schmancy special occasion perfume, dress up and go to Keys on Main to listen to the music, savor something tart or sweet or salty, pet your cat, buy yourself (or pick from the neighbor’s yard lol) some cheap pretty flowers, go to an art gallery. Do something simple that seems decadent. If your knees are up to it, go dancing… even if it’s with yourself in your room.

    I promise that these things will help… I know from experience. Also, Alison says so. She’s a doctor. They know stuff. πŸ™‚

  2. Think about what you’ve accomplished and start plotting your next race/adventure–that always help me get out of post-race funk. πŸ™‚ The anticipation is almost as fun as the race itself.

    1. I think that’s part of what is causing the blues. Knowing my next race isn’t until July 28th, that just seems so far away. But then, I know it’ll be here before I know it.

Leave a Reply

