Ironman Dream

When I ventured in to triathlons, my ultimate goal was to always do a full Ironman. I didn’t think too much about it. I just stuck with doing sprint triathlons at first. I was afraid if I thought too much about doing an Ironman I would get overwhelmed and everything would come to a screeching hault.

I knew I wanted to do a 1/2 Ironman before I did a full Ironman. Because of the price of registering for a 1/2 and full Ironman, I wouldn’t be able to do both in the same year. I didn’t want to do both in the same year.

This year, the dream of doing an Ironman has become stronger. I don’t know if it’s because it’s a more realistic and achievable dream than it was 3 years ago, but with every passing day I am getting more and more excited.

I remember on May 5th of this year, I was stopping during my long run to look up some of my friends that were competing in the Ironman down in St. George to see how they were doing. Even though the conditions were less than ideal, I was excited that one day I was going to do an Ironman. No, it wasn’t going to be in St. George, and it isn’t going to be until 2014, but I’m going to do an Ironman.

Yesterday was the Boise 70.3 Ironman. I’ve decided that next year I’m going to do this race. I heard that the conditions weren’t ideal. I heard the temperature was in the high 40’s and the water was 57 degrees (so yes, the water was warmer than not being in the water & usually it’s the other way around) and it was raining. So, another race where the conditions aren’t ideal, but I wanted to be there SO bad. Next month some time I’ll be able to register for the 2013 Boise 70.3 Ironman.

I just can’t believe that my dream is becoming a reality and it’s getting closer and closer.

6 thoughts on “Ironman Dream”

Leave a Reply

